Reviews

Hardware Reviews

Posted by Michael Pabia
on Wednesday, 06 May 2015
LUXA2 GroovyA Wireless Speaker

Wireless speakers are convenient and popular nowadays. LUXA2, a division of Thermaltake Technology, offers different audio solutions including wireless speakers. We have reviewed a few of LUXA2's wireless speakers before and now they have a new addition to their Groovy series, the GroovyA Wireless Stereo speaker which they happily provided us with a sample which we will check out today.

Last updated on Wednesday, 06 May 2015 | Read More >>>
Posted by Stan Miranda
on Wednesday, 06 May 2015
OCZ Vector 180 960GB SSD

The Vector 180 uses the Toshiba's own Indilinx Barefoot 3 M00 controller, a slightly over-clocked version of the Barefoot 3 M10 controller used in OCZ's in the ARC and Vertex 460(s) drives. The Vector 180 uses the same Toshiba 19nm Multi-Level Cell (MLC) Flash as well. Given the performance we saw with the Vertex 460 we reviews a while back, we are expecting good things from the Vector 180.

Last updated on Wednesday, 06 May 2015 | Read More >>>
Posted by Michael Pabia
on Monday, 04 May 2015
Noiseblocker NB-eLoop B12-P
As we all know proper cooling is important in any PC build and seeing there's an abundance of of fans to choose from, NoiseBlocker has done most of the work for you with their new NB-eLoop B12-P fans which happens to be the subject of today's review. Cooling fans aren't made alike and these are actually engineered for a specific use. There are things you need to consider in getting the right fans such as static pressure, air flow and acoustics aside from the all-important looks. Recently, we have reviewed the newly release Vardar F3-120 from EK Waterblocks. Blacknoise have been around longer when it comes to radiator fans with their Noiseblocker IT fan series. Today we will be checking out their NB-eLoop B12-P fan.
Last updated on Monday, 04 May 2015 | Read More >>>
Posted by Heath Coop
on Friday, 01 May 2015
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980 WindForce OC

7 months ago Nvidia released its latest GPU architecture with the line of GTX 900 series cards. On paper, the new GTX 980 is a bit different from the GTX 780 it replaces. The raster operations pipelines count has been increased from 48 to 64. The texture mapping units have been decreased from 192 to 128. The new card features 4GB of GDDR5 VRAM on a 256 bit bus versus the 3GB. The new CUDA core count is now 2048 versus 2304. Perhaps the biggest news is the reduction on power requirements. The new GTX 980 uses only about 65% of the power of its predecessor.

Last updated on Friday, 01 May 2015 | Read More >>>
Posted by William Lyon
on Thursday, 30 April 2015

Who doesn't want nice 7.1 channel surround sound for their gaming or Media PC? What's that? You want 7.1 but your motherboard only came with the basics for audio and you don't want to spend a ton of cash on a high-end sound card? Well then look no further because our friends at Vantec have you covered with their affordable 7.1 channel PCIe sound card. They were kind enough to send us one to check out for you guys so let's have at it!

Last updated on Thursday, 30 April 2015 | Read More >>>
Posted by William Lyon
on Wednesday, 29 April 2015

USB 3.0 is all the rage these days and it's easy to see why. It's MUCH faster than the older 2.0 so transferring large files takes a fraction of the time. Lots of devices are USB 3.0 these days - most being external storage devices. These comes in all shapes and sizes - from tiny little flash drives to larger HDD's and even SSD's. We looked at the StoreJet 25A3 1TB USB 3.0 drive from Transcend not too long ago and now they've kindly sent us one of their new ESD400 256GB USB 3.0 SSD's to check out for you guys so let's get to it!

Last updated on Wednesday, 29 April 2015 | Read More >>>

Pages