Intel

Search form

Posted by Damon Bailey
on Wednesday, August 16, 2017 - 8:00am
Intel Core i7-7820X CPU

Nearly six years ago in November of 2011, Intel divided its lineup by releasing its first HEDT (High-End Desk-Top) in the form of the X79 platform and a trio of Sandy Bridge-E CPU’s with the flagship 6-core Extreme Edition Core i7-3960X. The platform eventually received an update to Ivy Bridge-E with three new CPUs. Three years later, the updated X99 platform was launched with another trio of Haswell-E CPU’s with the 8 core i7-5960X, later to be trumped with Broadwell-E’s 10-core i7-6950X. Fast-forward just under 3 years and Intel brings us X299. This time however, Intel changed the game and announced NINE different CPU’s over a stagger launch. Spanning 2 architectures at the same time, Skylake-X and Kaby Lake-X, X299 hits the ground with a starting lineup from quad core to 18 cores, up to quad channel ddr4 memory and up to a hefty 44 PCIe lanes.
 

While we wait for the remaining Sky Lake-X CPU’s to arrive, we’ll take a look at one offering near the middle of the shotgun pattern launch with the 8 core, 16 thread Intel Core i7-7820X. Does it compare to the retiring 8 core champion of X99? We certainly aim to find out!

Posted by Heath Coop
on Friday, June 23, 2017 - 8:00am

The new X299 platform brings a number of new features and enhancements over the previous X99 platform. It also brings with it a new line of processors. They range from 4 cores all the way up to 18 cores. Skylake-X handles the 6 core to 18 core variants, while Kaby Lake-X handles the 4 core models. We recently reviewed the top dog Skylake Core i9 7900X. Today we will be looking its little brother, the Kaby Lake Core i7 7740X.

Posted by Heath Coop
on Thursday, June 22, 2017 - 8:00am

At Computex this year Intel announced its new high-end desktop (HEDT) platform. All the architecture changes meant that Intel needed a new socket, Socket 2066. The new X299 platform brings a number of new features and enhancements over the previous X99 platform. It also brings with it a new line of processors. They range from 4 cores all the way up to 18 cores. Skylake-X handles the 6 core to 18 core variants, while Kaby Lake-X handles the 4 core models.

Posted by Heath Coop
on Wednesday, January 18, 2017 - 8:00am
Intel Core i3-7350K Kaby Lake

Upon release, we reviewed the flagship of the Kaby Lake lineup, the Core i7-7700K. We came away rather impressed. Not only did it outperform the previous generation Core i7-6700K, it also proved to be a more capable overclocker. This time we have the Core i3-7350K. The Core i3 has half the hyperthreaded cores of a Core i7 and half the L3 cache at 4 MB. However Turbo Boost is disabled. Like its bigger brother, it features an unlocked multiplier though, for easy overclocking. This is something we haven’t seen since the 1st generation Core processors.

Posted by Heath Coop
on Saturday, January 7, 2017 - 8:00am
Intel Core i7 7700K Kaby Lake

On August 30, 2016 Intel announced its next generation processor, Kaby Lake. They also announced that Kaby Lake would continue to use their 14 nanometer process that had been used with the two previous generations, Skylake and Broadwell. It had been highly anticipated the 10 nanometer Cannonlake would be the successor to Skylake, so it raised a few eyebrows and even more questions, as this broke with Intel long standing “tick-toc” manufacturing and design model. Instead Kaby Lake would represent a further optimization on Skylake’s architecture. Indeed, Intel has replaced the “tick-tock” with a "process-architecture-optimization" model.

Posted by Heath Coop
on Thursday, October 22, 2015 - 8:00am
Intel Core i5 6600K

On release day, we brought you a review of Intel’s mainstream Skylake flagship, the i7 6700K. Today, we will focus another Skylake, the far more affordable Core i5-6600K. The new processor architecture based on Intel’s newest generation 14nm process FinFET lithographic technology. It promises decreased power consumption and increased performance. Like its more expensive i7 sibling, the i5 6600K is also features an unlocked multiplier and is sure to be popular with enthusiasts.

Posted by Heath Coop
on Wednesday, August 5, 2015 - 6:04am
Intel Core i7 6700K

Today is the day all those Intel fans have been waiting for. The day that has been discussed at times rather passionately. Today is the day, the launch day Intel’s Skylake architecture. Yes the 6th Generation Core i7-6700K and the Core i5-6600K are here. With those new processors is a new architecture, DDR4 memory, and even a new socket. That also means new motherboards as well, as Skylake utilizes the new 100 series Intel chipset.

Linode VPS Hosting