Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600MHz 16GB Kit Review

Posted by on Monday, January 14, 2013 - 3:31am

Crucial's newest has the same low stance, better timings and operates at the same voltage. I guess you can say the Tactical line is one step higher to the Sport as it boasts 8-8-8-24 instead of 9-9-9-24. Many individuals would not mind owning either but we are digging the lower timings and the quicker refresh.

Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600MHz 16GB Kit Review

 

Introduction

Just a couple of weeks I had the pleasure of reviewing Crucial's Ballistix Sport VLP 16GB 1600 MHz kit. It isn't uncommon for a kit to have such a low voltage like the Sport's did, which was 1.35v. But to add the voltage to the low stance of the kit is not as common. The kit could honestly fit under any cooler there is out there, making it worthwhile for large cooler users like the Noctua D14.

Crucial's newest has the same low stance, better timings and operates at the same voltage. I guess you can say the Tactical line is one step higher to the Sport as it boasts 8-8-8-24 instead of 9-9-9-24. Many individuals would not mind owning either but we are digging the lower timings and the quicker refresh.

Crucial‘s take on the Tactical LP

Need more space in your system? The Ballistix Tactical series offers modules in a low profile design to bring you more clearance around your system's CPU cooler and lower voltages for increased energy efficiency. Designed for performance enthusiasts and small form factor builders who have limited space for cabling and airflow, the Tactical LP memory option features all the benefits you've come to expect from our Tactical series—just in a smaller package that features advanced thermal dissipation. Not only are Tactical LP modules up to 16% lower in height than competing modules, their power requirement is less, too.** Using up to 10% less power (1.35V) than standard modules (1.5V), Ballistix Tactical LP memory helps reduce the heat in your system and keep it cool.


Specifications

· Module Size: 16GB kit (8GBx2)
· Package: Ballistix 240-pin DIMM
· Feature: DDR3 PC3-12800
· Specs: DDR3 PC3-12800 • 8-8-8-24 • Unbuffered • NON-ECC • DDR3-1600 • 1.35V • 1024Meg x 64 • Low Profile •


Closer look

The Tactical LP series can be purchased in several ways either as single modules, dual channel and quad channel kits. If for some reason you need them in single modules they can be had in 4 or 8 GB sticks. The dual channel kits can be had in 8 and 16 GB, each with just two sticks. And the quad kits come in 16 and 32 GB kits each with four sticks.

No matter the way it is purchased all run at 1.35v/1.5v as there are two XMP settings depending on your motherboard. We had no issues running 1.35v at the default timings of 8-8-8-24. These timings are represented by each kit.

All purchasing options have a 1600 MHz operating frequency.

The Tactical LP series has the same styling of heat spreaders as the regular Tactical but shorter. The yellow and gun metal color heat spreaders stand just less than 1/2" tall about a 16% reduction in height compared to the next shortest kit.

The design is nice but simple and slightly larger than that of the Sport's review. They are also made of aluminum to keep them cool as well as light.


Testing Begins

Testing Hardware:

1. ASUS X79 Deluxe Motherboard
2. Intel Core i7 3930K Processor
3. Kingston HyperX Blue 1600MHz
4. Kingston V+ 200 120GB Solid State Drive
5. ASUS BC12B1LT BD-Rom Drive
6. Thermaltake Frio Extreme CPU Cooler
7. MicrocoolBanchetto 101 Open Air Test Bench
8. Silverstone Strider Gold Evolution 850W Power Supply
9. ASUS Nvidia GTX 560Ti 448 Graphic Card

Testing Software:

AIDA64 Extreme Edition
Super PI Modded 1.5
Flying Wild Hogs Hard Reset
FuturemarkPCMark Vantage
MaxxMEM 2

CPU-Z


Overclocking

We conducted the overclocking procedure for this kit a little different than the approach on the Sport's. We wanted to see just how higher we could get the set to overclock using the stock voltage and keeping the timings similar to default.
At 8-8-8-24 at 1.35 we were able to get the system to boot at 1800 MHz which is the next setting in the BIOS for our motherboard. 1866 MHz was a no-go. But at 9-9-9-27, we got the system posted and stable. Upping the frequency 2000 MHz proven to unstable in Prime but good enough to game on.

At the 1.5v setting we conquered 2000 MHz with the system being completely stable using the same timings posted above.


Results

AIDA64 Extreme Edition
“FinalWire Ltd. today announced the immediate availability of AIDA64 Extreme Edition 1.50 software, a streamlined diagnostic and benchmarking tool for home users; and the immediate availability of AIDA64 Business Edition 1.50 software, an essential network management solution for small and medium scale enterprises.
The new AIDA64 update implements AVX-optimized benchmarks for the upcoming Intel Sandy Bridge
processors, adds a brand new video encoding benchmark, and supports the latest AMD and nVIDIA graphics processors.”

Super PI Modded 1.5
“In August 1995, the calculation of pi up to 4,294,960,000 decimal digits was succeeded by using a supercomputer at the University of Tokyo. The program was written by D.Takahashi in collaboration with Dr.Y.Kanada at the computer center. This record should be the current world record. (Details are shown in the windows help.) This record-breaking program was ported to personal computer environment such as Windows NT and Windows 95. In order to calculate 33.55 million digits, it takes within 3 days with a Pentium 90 MHz, 40 MB main memory and 340 MB available storage.”

Flying Wild Hogs Hard Reset
“Thee world as we know it ceased to exist. Humanity is at the verge of extinction, living in the last closed city of Bezoar. Mankind wages war against the machines controlling vast areas of what became the 'Barrens'. Machines want to control and assimilate 'The Sanctuary' a network that holds billions of digitalized human minds. Our hero, Maj. Fletcher, is a soldier of CLN - a corporation combat unit, established to protect the city. Machines are constantly assaulting the walls of Bezoar. Fletcher moves in when Bezoar's protective barrier is breached.”


FuturemarkPCMark Vantage
“PCMark Vantage is a PC benchmark suite designed for Windows Vista offering one-click simplicity for casual users and detailed, professional grade testing for industry, press and enthusiasts.
A PCMark score is a measure of your computer's performance across a variety of common tasks such as viewing and editing photos, video, music and other media, gaming, communications, productivity and security.
From desktops and laptops to workstations and gaming rigs, by comparing your PCMark Vantage score with other similar systems you can find the hardware and software bottlenecks that stop you getting more from your PC.”

MaxxMEM 2
“Is the *little brother of MaxxPI², it contains the same Memorybenchmark routine as MaxxPI² does.
So your reaced results will be comparable to Memory / Latency benchmarks done by MaxxPI².”


Conclusion

The Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP could be the ideal kit for many especially those that need some low profile memory for their build like the SFF we are seeing becoming more and more popular. And for those that are using one of the many humongous coolers we are seeing infest the shelves of our favorite computer warehouse.

Besides the overall height of the modules what else makes these great modules to have is one the tight timings of 8-8-8-24 and next the ultra low operating voltage of 1.35v. Many of us want the fastest we can get and then there are those that want tight low timings and voltage with this kit you do get the best of both worlds as the kit does have a decent voltage value of 1600 MHz. But you want to turn things up a little these can run as fast as 2000 MHz with upping the voltage. Higher can be achieved if you don’t mind sacrificing timings or voltage.

We used Google shopping to track down pricing and find them cheapest at Newegg for $115. This is the best price for a 16GB of 1600 MHz memory but if you need the clearance and want the timing and voltage, it’s a nice buy.

{aseadnetadblock|Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP|Crucial Ballistix Tactical } 

Category: