Video Cards

Search form

Posted by Paul Malfy
on Wednesday, August 10, 2016 - 8:00am

It’s no secret that NVidia’s 1000 series, Pascal GPUs has been one of the most exciting launches in recent history. The MSI Gaming GTX 1070 was one of the first board partner cards to feature a custom PCB, and the difference shows. With its custom PCB sporting a 10-phase power delivery, can this GTX 1070 really trade blows with the likes of the Titan X. Will it be able to inch out the Founders Edition 1070? Join me as I run the MSI GeForce GTX 1070 GAMING 8G through my gauntlet of benchmarks. Let’s see how the MSI GTX 1070 GAMING 8G holds up!

Posted by Heath Coop
on Wednesday, August 3, 2016 - 8:00am
PowerColor Red Devil RX 480

PowerColor has released a brand new video card in the Red Devil RX 480 8GB GDDR5. It is based on AMD’s latest GCN 4 architecture designed for GloFo 14nm FinFET that delivers premium VR capability, increased level of performance, smooth VR, seamless support for next-gen gaming monitors, and CPU-free game streaming or recording. Furthermore, the model also supports AMD’s newest technologies such as Direct 12® and Vulkan™, FreeSync™, and Liquid VR.

Posted by Heath Coop
on Wednesday, July 13, 2016 - 8:00am
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1070 G1 Gaming SLI

If you read our review of the Gigabyte GeForce GTX G1 Gaming review a couple of days ago, you know we were pretty impressed. We were not done though, because we have managed to score two of these beauties. So what do you do with two GTX 1070’s? Well you SLI them.

Posted by Heath Coop
on Monday, July 11, 2016 - 8:00am
Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1070 G1 Gaming

Pascal is the biggest single jump in video card performance we have seen since AMD dropped the Radeon HD 7970 in 2012. It is huge and that is putting it mildly. It created a demand so great that GTX 1080 cards were selling at up to 50% over MSRP. So after the arrival of the GTX 1070 and hope was soon restored. Stock soon ran out of those as well. Luckily, we were able to get out hands on the EVGA GTX 1080 Founders Edition we reviewed a short time ago. We were not just lucky enough to get that card, but a few others as well, including two Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1070 G1 Gaming cards.

Posted by Heath Coop
on Friday, June 24, 2016 - 8:00am
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition

In September 2015 Nvidia released its latest the line of Maxell based GTX 900 series cards. The new GTX 980 took the industry by storm. It was not long before enthusiasts were starting to wonder when the Pascal series of cards would be released. It has taken twenty-one long months, but that wait is finally over.

Posted by Heath Coop
on Friday, December 4, 2015 - 8:00am
PowerColor PCS+ R9 380X Myst. Edition

The R9 380X doubles up on the stream processors of the R7 370. It also offers a moderate 14% increase over the R9 380, yet still has 80% of the capability of the R9 390. It also offers a moderate 14% increase over the R9 380, yet still has 80% of the capability of the R9 390. This should allow the R9 380X to perform extremely well at 1080 resolution, while not ruling out the possibility of good 1440 capability as well.

Posted by Heath Coop
on Friday, November 6, 2015 - 8:00am
Sapphire Tri-X R9 Fury

Today we will be reviewing Sapphire’s Tri-X version on the R9 Fury. Sapphire has added an air cooling solution of their own design. The cooler features a die cast frame with 3 90mm fans, 7 heatpipes, high density stacked fins, and a solid copper heat transfer plate. The cooler extends well beyond the PCB and there is also an aluminum backplate. Intelligent Fan Control (IFCII) stops fans under light load for silent operation at idle. All of this is mounted to AMD’s reference PCB that has a 8-LED bar indicates GPU power draw under load.

Pages