Video Cards

Search form

Posted by Heath Coop
on Wednesday, July 13, 2016 - 8:00am
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1070 G1 Gaming SLI

If you read our review of the Gigabyte GeForce GTX G1 Gaming review a couple of days ago, you know we were pretty impressed. We were not done though, because we have managed to score two of these beauties. So what do you do with two GTX 1070’s? Well you SLI them.

Posted by Heath Coop
on Monday, July 11, 2016 - 8:00am
Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1070 G1 Gaming

Pascal is the biggest single jump in video card performance we have seen since AMD dropped the Radeon HD 7970 in 2012. It is huge and that is putting it mildly. It created a demand so great that GTX 1080 cards were selling at up to 50% over MSRP. So after the arrival of the GTX 1070 and hope was soon restored. Stock soon ran out of those as well. Luckily, we were able to get out hands on the EVGA GTX 1080 Founders Edition we reviewed a short time ago. We were not just lucky enough to get that card, but a few others as well, including two Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1070 G1 Gaming cards.

Posted by Heath Coop
on Friday, June 24, 2016 - 8:00am
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition

In September 2015 Nvidia released its latest the line of Maxell based GTX 900 series cards. The new GTX 980 took the industry by storm. It was not long before enthusiasts were starting to wonder when the Pascal series of cards would be released. It has taken twenty-one long months, but that wait is finally over.

Posted by Heath Coop
on Friday, December 4, 2015 - 8:00am
PowerColor PCS+ R9 380X Myst. Edition

The R9 380X doubles up on the stream processors of the R7 370. It also offers a moderate 14% increase over the R9 380, yet still has 80% of the capability of the R9 390. It also offers a moderate 14% increase over the R9 380, yet still has 80% of the capability of the R9 390. This should allow the R9 380X to perform extremely well at 1080 resolution, while not ruling out the possibility of good 1440 capability as well.

Posted by Heath Coop
on Friday, November 6, 2015 - 8:00am
Sapphire Tri-X R9 Fury

Today we will be reviewing Sapphire’s Tri-X version on the R9 Fury. Sapphire has added an air cooling solution of their own design. The cooler features a die cast frame with 3 90mm fans, 7 heatpipes, high density stacked fins, and a solid copper heat transfer plate. The cooler extends well beyond the PCB and there is also an aluminum backplate. Intelligent Fan Control (IFCII) stops fans under light load for silent operation at idle. All of this is mounted to AMD’s reference PCB that has a 8-LED bar indicates GPU power draw under load.

Posted by Heath Coop
on Wednesday, October 28, 2015 - 8:00am
PNY GeForce GTX 980 Ti

It has been 13 months since Nvidia released its Maxwell architecture large GPU’s. The new GTX 980 took the industry by storm. It was not long before enthusiasts were starting to wonder a GTX 980 Ti was going to be released and how it would perform. It took another 9 months they had their answer, but what an answer it was.

Posted by Heath Coop
on Wednesday, August 26, 2015 - 8:00am
Sapphire Nitro R7 370

The Sapphire Nitro R7 370 utilizes 4GB of GDDR5 memory with 1024 stream processors and ships with core clock speed at 1010MHz. The 1500MHz memory is connected via a new high speed 256-bit memory interface. Sapphire has added their Dual-X cooler with Intelligent Fan Control (IFC-II) which turns off the fans for silent operation under light load. There is a new shroud design and diecast heatsink keep the card running cool. The Nirto R7 370 supports the new technologies DirectX 12 and AMD VSR.

Pages