Reviews

Search form

Hardware Reviews

Posted by Ransley Garrow
on Thursday, 13 April 2017
Mass Effect Andromeda PC Game Review

In 2007 BioWare released the first Mass Effect to critical and commercial success, an RPG space opera with high production values, and choice and consequences. This spawned two sequels Mass Effect 2 which saw a shift toward action and an improvement of shooter controls and Mass Effect 3 which fans panned for having an unsatisfactory ending. Despite the attempt by BioWare to alleviate tensions and address fan concerns, the future of the series was kept hush until the 2015 E3 when EA announced Mass Effect: Andromeda. What remains to be seen is will a new direction revive interest in the franchise or did Mass Effect end with Sheppard? Warning there may be plot spoilers in the story section.

Last updated on Friday, 14 April 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Paul Malfy
on Tuesday, 11 April 2017
RapidX Ferrino gaming chair 01

I’d have to say the most subjective item in any enthusiast set up must be there chair. It really is the most personal item one can buy for their set up. Everyone’s tastes and opinions of chairs differ. Especially when it comes to “gaming chairs.” Some people love them, some people hate them. Nevertheless, you can’t deny that they are very popular these days. The first racing style gaming chair was put out by Ferrari. It was simply a chair from one of their vehicles with wheels attached and it cost and absurd amount of money. It wasn’t until 2006 when DXRacer made the racing style gaming chair popular when they made it affordable. At least more affordable than the Ferrari one.

Since then, there have been several companies popping up trying to either perfect, or make even more affordable, a quality, racing chair. However, most these companies made cheap knockoffs. So, when we were contacted to review the RapidX Ferrino, I was a bit skeptical. But once I received the chair, my skepticism began to fade. Now, after a couple months of everyday use I think I’ve used The RapidX Ferrino enough to give a fair, unbiased opinion of this chair. So, let’s see if the RapidX Ferrino is just more of the same, or have the people at RapidX designed to chair that will stand out from the rest?

Last updated on Tuesday, 11 April 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Heath Coop
on Monday, 10 April 2017

The ROG Strix X99 Gaming is the flagship of Asus’ ROG (Republic of Gamers) Strix line of motherboards. ROG is synonymous with performance and the ROG Strix line offers everything many have come to expect in an Asus ROG motherboard, so there are a lot of expectations from enthusiasts everywhere.

Last updated on Friday, 14 April 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Paul Malfy
on Friday, 07 April 2017
AORUS AX370 GAMING 5 AM4 AMD X370 Ryzen Series ATX Motherboard

The GIGABYTE AORUS X370 GAMING 5 is more considered a mid-range motherboard. However, after looking at the feature set, one may not think so. With features such as USB 3.1 type C, M.2 and U.2 support, dual LAN ports and RGB back lighting, the AORUS X370 GAMING 5 sure feels like a board more on the higher end. The question is, can this board perform like a higher end motherboard one would expect to spend $400 or more for? We put the X370 GAMING 5 through our suite of tests to try an answer that question. So, let’s see how the GIGABYTE AORUS X370 GAMING 5 held up.

Last updated on Friday, 14 April 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Heath Coop
on Wednesday, 05 April 2017

A couple of days ago we reviewed the Ryzen 7 1700X, a member of AMD’s much anticipated replacement for the aging FX series processors. We came away quite impressed. It offered performance rivaled many more expensive processors from Team Blue. Today we get to look at least expensive processor in the Ryzen 7 lineup, the Ryzen 7 1700.

Last updated on Tuesday, 11 April 2017 | Read More >>>

Pages

Recent Review Comments

Linode VPS Hosting