Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600MHz Dual Memory DDR3

Posted by on Monday, February 28, 2011 - 12:00am

Corsair VengeanceHeading the charge is Corsair, a company you all are likely familiar with as they are one of the industry’s leaders in DIMM manufacturing. Corsair recently released the new Vengeance line of high performance DDR3 just prior to that of the P67 chipset. Thanks to Sandy Bridge being built with a much better memory controller than the socket 1156 and 1366 processors, the socket 1155 variants are capable of improved memory performance and running a higher frequency, all the while doing so with out breaking a sweat. The kit we will be taking a look at from Corsair today is the Vengeance model CMZ8GB3M2A1600C9. When broken down this equates to being an 8GB  kit(2x4GB) of DDR3, running at 1600MHz, with a CAS latency of 9. 

Introduction to the Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600MHz Dual Memory DDR3

With the surfacing of Sandy Bridge processor and chipset, memory manufacturers found a new reason to introduce new and improved performance RAM modules to the market. With the intensity of today’s games and Windows Seven 64-bit, people are bypassing the once highly sought after 4GB kits and are going straight to 8GB kits. Granted, the price of DDR3 being at an all time low helps as well.

Heading the charge is Corsair, a company you all are likely familiar with as they are one of the industry’s leaders in DIMM manufacturing. Corsair recently released the new Vengeance line of high performance DDR3 just prior to that of the P67 chipset. Thanks to Sandy Bridge being built with a much better memory controller than the socket 1156 and 1366 processors, the socket 1155 variants are capable of improved memory performance and running a higher frequency, all the while doing so with out breaking a sweat. The kit we will be taking a look at from Corsair today is the Vengeance model CMZ8GB3M2A1600C9. When broken down this equates to being an 8GB  kit(2x4GB) of DDR3, running at 1600MHz, with a CAS latency of 9. 

Corsair’s take on the Vengeance

Great Looking, Great Overclocking Memory at a Great Price

Corsair Vengeance DDR3 memory modules are designed with overclockers in mind. Vengeance DIMMs are built using RAM specially selected for their high-performance potential. Aluminum heat spreaders help dissipate heat, and provide the aggressive look that you want in your gaming rig. As a bonus, the attractive low price of Vengeance memory will also leave lots of room in your system build budget.

Optimized for Compatibility with the Latest CPUs and Motherboards

Vengeance memory is designed specifically for the latest CPUs. Vengeance modules run at 1.5V for maximum compatibility with all Intel® Core™ i3, i5 and i7 processors, as well as the 2nd generation Intel processor family. Vengeance DDR3 memory is available in single modules, and two or three module kits, making it easy for you to match the DIMM population requirements of your motherboard.

Next-Generation Density for the Ultimate Power User

Most Vengeance DIMMs are built with two gigabit RAM ICs. These extra-dense memory chips allow you to have 8GB of memory using only two DIMMs, or to populate your triple channel system with up to an insanely large 24GB of system memory for extreme multitasking performance.


Specifications

Warranty: Lifetime
Size: 8GB Kit (2 x 4GB)
Performance Profile: XMP
Fan Included: No
Heat Spreader: Vengeance
Memory Configuration: Dual Channel
Memory Type: DDR3
Package - Memory Pin: 240
Package - Memory Format: DIMM
Tested Voltage: 1.5
SPD Voltage: 1.5
Speed Rating: PC3-12800 (1600MHz)
SPD Speed: 1333 MHz
Tested Speed: 1600 MHz
Tested Latency: 9-9-9-24
SPD Latency: 9-9-9-24

Features

  • Maximize your system memory capacity for ultimate performance
  • Specially selected RAMs for overclocked performance
  • 1.5V VDIMM spec ensures compatibility with 2nd generation (Sandy Bridge) Intel Core processor family
  • Includes XMP performance profile
  • Guaranteed to work on all dual channel Intel platforms
  • Aggressive Look you want
  • Attractive low price
  • World famous Corsair reliability and performance

Closer look

This 8GB Vengeance kit, along with the 4GB and 16GB kits, are made especially for the second generation Sandy Bridge processors by requiring only a meager 1.5 volts. For those that don’t want to have to dial in timings and voltages, then you can breathe easily as the Vengeance kits support Intel's XMP profiling. Speaking of timing, this kit has SPD ratings of 9-9-9-24, but there is also an 8-8-8-24 8GB sister kit available for anyone who prefers to run tighter timings.

To begin we see that the Vengeance sports a new line of heat spreaders, which are made of aluminum and stand pretty tall. Our definition of "tall", is there is a chance they may hamper the mounting of some CPU coolers, or at least the second fan. However, we encountered no such issues with our Scythe Yasya test heatsink.

The decorative side of the modules has the Vengeance logo in the middle with the Corsair and its sails high above in the middle of the cooling portion. The reverse side provides us with all the module’s operating information.


Testing

Test Hardware:
Motherboard:  Gigabyte P67-UD4
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Ram: Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card: ASUS Radeon HD 5870
HDD: Hitachi 1TB
Power: Thermaltake Tough Power XT 850 (Sponsored by Thermaltake)
Case: Open air
Cooling: Xigmatek Aegir SD128264
OS: Microsoft Windows 7 64-bit
Thermal compound: Arctic Silver 5

Testing Software:
SiSoftware Sandra
Super Pi Mod1.5 XS
AIDA64 Extreme Edition
Square Enix Final Fantasy XiV


Test Results

Software Sandra Lite 2010c
SiSoftware Sandra (the System ANalyser, Diagnostic and Reporting Assistant) is a 32 and 64-bit Windows system analyser that includes benchmarking, testing and listing modules. It tries to go beyond other utilities to show you more of what is really going on under the hood so you draw comparisons at both a high and low-level in a single product.


Vengeance Result are in RED

Super Pi Mod1.5 XS
In August 1995, the calculation of pi up to 4,294,960,000 decimal digits was succeeded by using a supercomputer at the University of Tokyo. The program was written by D.Takahashi and he collaborated with Dr. Y.Kanada at the computer center, the University of Tokyo. This record should be the current world record. (Details are shown in the windows help.) This record-breaking program was ported to personal computer environment such as Windows NT and Windows 95. In order to calculate 33.55 million digits, it takes within 3 days with Pentium 90MHz, 40MB main memory and 340MB available storage.

 


FinalWire AIDA64 Extreme Edition (Formerly Lavalys Everest)
AIDA64 Extreme Edition is a streamlined Windows diagnostic and benchmarking software for home users. AIDA64 Extreme Edition provides a wide range of features to assist in overclocking, hardware error diagnosis, stress testing, and sensor monitoring. It has unique capabilities to assess the performance of the processor, system memory, and disk drives. AIDA64 is compatible with all current 32-bit and 64-bit Microsoft Windows operating systems, including Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2.

Square Enix Final Fantasy XiV
FINAL FANTASY XIV takes the first intrepid steps into an unknown realm, and in doing so a new place for adventurers of all creeds to call home is born — Eorzea.
In the world of Hydaelyn, the term Eorzea denotes the geographical region comprised of the continent of ldenard and its surrounding islands, as well as the civilization which spawned there. Calling the area home are several independent city-states,the most notable being Limsa Lominsa, bustling port and pirate hub;Ul’dah, a desert city rich in mineral wealth; Gridania, nested deep within an ageless wood; and Ishgard, bastion atop the mountains.

 


Overclocking

When it comes to the Sandy Bridge platform overclocking of memory has been turned on it's head, especially in this case with memory. No longer are we able to adjustment the BLCK, which in turns mean we can no longer up the frequency in smaller increments. We are now left with whatever preset DIMM frequencies the motherboard manufacturer has chosen to support. In most cases this means 1333MHz, 1600MHz, 1866MHz and 2133MHz. With all this being said, we have changed the way we overclock memory here at Pro-Clockers. Instead of testing flat-out for the highest frequency, we instead test for the best possible timings at each of the motherboard's available frequencies. Here are our results:


1866MHz at 9-10-10-24 at 1.65v


2133MHz at 10-11-11-30 at 1.65v

Our Vengeance modules were able to boot 1600MHz @ 8-8-8-20 w/ 1.65 volts, but no pictures due to limited stability as the system would soon crash while running Super Pi. We are sure more voltage could have corrected this but we wanted to stay within Intel's specified voltage limit.


Conclusion

The Vengeance line of memory is another great product from Corsair. As usual we see them perform extremely well, with no troubles at stock timings or with relaxed ones while overclocked, we were impressed by the kit. The new style of heat spreaders are attractive ones and not flashy by any means, somewhat simple or perhaps aggressive, but by no means would we describe them as flashy.

The warranty like, on all Corsair retail memory kits, is lifetime. Which in short means Corsair stands behind their RAM essentially forever. This warranty of Corsair's covers their entire spectrum of memory kits from the budget priced Value Series, to their top of the line enthusiast Dominator GT line. With the low asking price of about $100, the Vengeance models sit at a price point that many of the targeted gamers and enthusiasts will feel comfortable paying.

Overclocking RAM with the current P67 doesn't take much knowledge as it once used to. Nowadays we no longer have to worry about manually adjusting frequencies, as the Sandy Bridge processor limits that to just 1333, 1600, 1866 and 2133MHz. So, we tested for the lowest timings at each of the higher frequencies and were quite please with the results. The 1600MHz rated Vengeance was more than capable of 2133MHz with a CAS Latency of 10.

{aseadnetadblock|corsair vengeance|corsair ddr3} 

Category: 

Linode VPS Hosting