Video Cards

Search form

Posted by Mark Taliaferro
on Tuesday, September 26, 2017 - 8:00am
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 GAMING 11GB GDDR5X, iCX

When EVGA releases a top of the (consumer) line graphics card it’s time to wake up and smell the capacitors. EVGA was kind enough to send us an EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 GAMING 11GB GDDR5X, with ICX technology and any day that happens it’s time for the happy dance! To get a bit geeky we are talking a GP 102-350 core boasting 3584 Cuda Cores with 224 TMU’s, 88 ROPS, 11GB GDDR5X running across a 352 Bit-Bus. Frankly, that’s more graphics computing power than 90% of end users are likely to ever have or need.

Posted by Heath Coop
on Monday, August 7, 2017 - 1:24am

Not too long ago we reviewed Asus’s new line of ROG Strix AMD based video cards the RX 580 and RX 570 and we came away rather impressed. Today we will be looking at their RX 560 Video card. The Radeon RX 560 is the newest entry to the RX 500 series and is designed for the more budget conscience gamer. The ROG Strix RX 560 utilizes 4GB of GDDR5 memory with 1024 stream processors and 16 compute units. It ships with 1326MHz core clock speed, and has 1750MHz memory clock speed which is connected to a 128-bit memory interface. These specifications are roughly half that of the larger RX 570.

Posted by Paul Malfy
on Thursday, July 13, 2017 - 8:00am
ASUS GTX 1060 OC Edition 6GB at 9 Gbps Graphics Card

With such a wide range of GPUs on the market today, it can be hard to make an educated choice on what GPU is right for you. Sure, the higher-end cards get plenty of coverage. However, what about the more budget oriented cards? Everyone knows a 1080 ti will destroy anything you throw at it, but what about its smaller brother, the 1060? The card I think is one of the most under rated cards on the market today, taking a back seat to the impressive performance of the 1070. ASUS recently sent us their GTX 1060 OC Edition, with 6 GB of GDDR5 RAM running at 9 Gbps. In theory, this card should have enough power to run any game, at high settings. So, we put the ASUS GTX 1060 OC to the test. Can it handle newer titles, at higher resolutions, or will this card be stuck running 1080p? Let’s see how it did.

Posted by Paul Malfy
on Wednesday, June 28, 2017 - 8:00am
GIGABYTE AORUS GTX 1080 Ti XTREME Edition 11G Graphics Card

The enthusiast community has been waiting for one card since the announcement of Pascal, and that card is the new GTX 1080 Ti. This was in hopes for a repeat of the performance gap between the Titan X and the previous Ti card. With the latest performance numbers, the GTX 1080 Ti proves it was a card worth waiting for. Since the Founders Edition 1080 Ti was released to the public, several companies have released their own versions of the 1080 Ti with custom PCBs and coolers. One of those companies seems to stand out more than the rest, and that company is GIGABYTE, and their new line of AORUS Motherboards and GPUs, which brings us to today’s review of the GIGABYTE AORUS GTX 1080 Ti. With a few different 1080 Ti SKUs, GIGABYTE has offerings from the Founders Edition card, up to their flagship AORUS GTX 1080 Ti XTREME Edition. In this review, we’ll be looking at the XTREME Edition and seeing how it compares to the AORUS GTX 1080 Ti Standard Edition. So, let’s get into the review.

Posted by Paul Malfy
on Wednesday, June 7, 2017 - 8:00am
ASUS ROG STRIX RX580 OC Edition Video Card

While we all impatiently wait for Vega to release, AMD and Radeon Technologies has just released their RX 500 series of graphics cards. The 500 series is based on their 4th Gen GCN, or Graphics Core Next Architecture. The ASUS STRIX RX 580 has a clock speed, in OC Mode, of 1380 MHz. That’s a 7% increase over the reference card. That fact, combined with the excellent performance of the STRIX cooler, should make the STRIX RX 580 a great card. So, we put the STRIX RX 580 through our regular synthetic benchmarks, as well as some of my favorite games in my library. Let’s see how the STRIX RX 580 did.

Posted by Heath Coop
on Friday, May 26, 2017 - 8:00am
Asus ROG Strix Radeon RX 570 Video Card Review

ROG Strix RX 570 utilizes 4GB of GDDR5 memory with 2048 stream processors and 32 compute units. It ships with 1300MHz core clock speed, and has 1750MHz memory clock speed which is connected to a high speed 256-bit memory interface.

Posted by Heath Coop
on Wednesday, May 17, 2017 - 8:00am

The GTX 1080 has proven to be quite popular ever since it was released just shy of a year ago. Although NVidia could be content with just happily selling GTX 1080s until the next generation of video card are released, they weren’t. In fact, they gave the GTX 1080 a memory upgrade. NVidia bumped up the original GTX 1080s GDDR5X memory clock speed by 10% to 11Gbps. This is the same as the more expensive GTX 1080 Ti and increases the GTX 1080s memory bandwidth from 320 GB/s to 352 GB/s.

Pages

Linode VPS Hosting