Reviews

Search form

Latest ProClockers Hardware Reviews

Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewEarlier in the year we got a chance to review the Vantec 400MX-S2 that boasts dual hard drive support but no raid but had JBOD capabilities. This was a pretty cool enclosure, one that is still around today acting as a backup storage device for this site. You can never have enough backups. But today we are going to review Vantec’s newest MX enclosure entitled the 400MX-SR. I bet you can guess what is different about this one compared to the last model. Ok, give up? Raid! The new unit has Raid 1/0 as well as JBOD.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewAnd if you are to base your conclusion on first impression then a Super Talent flash drive that just may be what you are looking for. The new Pico Gold we received is the smallest of all the flash drives that we have tested including the very small PD18 from Adata. And the Pico Gold has another visual feature that may appeal to your bling side. This unit is gold plated. Yeah that's right gold plated. Ultra small and physically appealing are some pretty good traits to have but there is one more to boast about. Into the gold plated casing is 8GB of storage space. Now that we have your attention lets proceed on with the rest of the article.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewCoolmax was kind enough to send over one of their more powerful power supplies. The CUQ1350 is the big dog from Coolmax and guaranteed to power the most extreme systems. The CUQ1350 is a somewhat different than the CUG950 we reviewed a few weeks ago. The CUQ series is not totally modular unlike the CUG, which is totally modular. And a stunning brushed aluminum enclosure encloses all the power the unit has to offer. This is just some of what the new CUG1350 has to offer. What else does the CUG has to offer? Lets read the review shall we.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewFrom the very beginning many of us could have figured the P45 chipset was going to be the chipset of chance as it is price considerably cheaper than the older X38 and the X48. And from the early reviews the P45 overclockers pretty well. We have seen able forum post and web reviews with front side buses reaching the 600MHz range on Core2Duo processors. But for the non-overclockers out there another advantage over the older P35 is the two 8x PCIe slots when attempting to using ATI video cards in Crossfire mode. Today, we will take the EP45-DQ6 through a ring of benchmarks and see what type of FSB numbers we can achieve.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewToday I'm reviewing the Silverstone. I respect Silverstone. Their products are attractive and perform well, but I'm not going to take it easy on the DA850. For this PSU to garner a good review from me, it will have to stay stable while providing power to all my hardware.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewQimonda was nice enough a few months ago to let us play around with a set of XTune DDR3 PC-1333MHz. They were not too bad of a kit and did pretty well in our round of tests. As things progress and the need for more is there we asked to review a bigger and faster kit. We were granted permission to do so and received a set of 4GB of AXH860UD20-16H which is rated at CL9 at 1600MHz. We all know there is faster out there but this kit operates at only 1.5 volts. Not too bad for some one that doesn’t want to put an unnecessary load on their system. We will now stop rambling and get on with the testing.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewNow we have at our doorstep the Vendetta Dos ok the Vendetta 2. This new and improved Vendetta is bigger and sports a larger cooling fan. Naturally, we would think that a larger version of a similar cooler would deem better temps and higher overclocks. Well we are here today to see if the theory correct. 

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewIf you take a budget chipset and mix it with a company like ECS you will get an incredible priced motherboard. In this case you will get the P43T-A2. The P43A is ECS�s first P43 motherboard on the market. Even with all its short comings compared to the P45 this board offers the everyday Joe with everything they would need to build a stable and very complete system.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewToday I'm reviewing the Silverstone SST-KL03B-w. Will it make the grade? Silverstone is well-known for making quality enclosures, particularly for its high end cases, in both the full-tower and home theatre pc format. Given this pedigree, I expect this case will be no different.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewBut for those of you who don’t have a preference that would lead you to one particular brand there is a new company that would like you to take a chance with them. Vox is providing users with a very stylish external drive  capable of housing up to 750 gigs of storage. And if size isnt all you are looking for in a drive the V1 offers a single button backup system to make your life easier. These are just a couple of features that Vox is using to try and win you over. What else does it have to offer? Read the rest of these pages to find out.

 

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewVantec, a company known for different forms of external storage, is the next in line to release a pod. The NexStar Hard Drive Dock is an incredible looking device that will take any 2.5 or 3.5 internal drive and make it external. And all this is done without having to disassemble anything. All you have to do is drop the drive in the top of the dock, give the drive a second to be recognized by Windows and you are ready to read and write all your data.But how is this unit different from the one we previously reviewed a few weeks ago? Well, read the next few pages and find out.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewHeatsinks have been around since the inception of the CPU, and manufacturers have feverishly been trying to develop creative ways to cool the latest and greatest processors that produce an abundant amount of heat. We've seen every type of fin array imaginable, but Zalman's flower style design seems to stand out from the rest. Not only were they one of the first to use copper fins on their heatsinks, but they were also one of the first to experiment with different fin array configurations to enhance their heatsinks' performance. Today, we have Zalman's CNPS7500-CU LED CPU cooler on our test bench. This massive 848 gram beast has a low profile design and a flare for craftsmanship that many enthusiasts have come to expect from Zalman.

 

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewZalman was one of the first to incorporate an open face fan and heatsink configuration, and the CNPS8700 shows that this company hasn't been resting on its laurels, but improving on an already proven fan favorite. This low-profile heatsink uses Zalman's popular “flower” style cooler that incorporates a speed-controlled blue LED fan as well as twin heat pipes that are inner woven through the middle of the copper fins.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewCrucial being one of the most recognized and a respected name in memory reproduction has graciously offered a set of Ballistix PC3-16000 for reviewing. With 9-9-9-28 timings being rather high latency can we adjusted with a little tweaking and voltage. But hitting 2000MHz isn’t something many of us have seen from other own system. But Crucial today will give us that opportunity.

 

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Tuesday, 30 June 2009

overviewToday, Sunbeamtech threatened the cooling industry leaders with its latest offering, The Core Contact. It is made up of four large diameter heat pipes that make contact with the HIS of the processor, the same speedy heat dissipation technology that a lot of cooler manufacturers have been adopting recently. So  let’s take a look at how it fares against two of our favorite the Thermalright Ultra-120 and the Noctua U12P.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Tuesday, 30 June 2009

overviewHiper was kind enough to contact us to review the latest in their Type R series offering- The Mark 2 or MK 2. The metal connectors are a surprise omission, I loved them, but the mesh housing stays. New on the MK2  units is the increased efficiency rating and power support. The surprise addition is USB ports! Keep reading to find out what a power supply and USB have in common.

 

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Tuesday, 30 June 2009

overviewWe have yet again received another mainboard from Asrock that is based on this Intel and improved chipset. The P45R2000-WiFi has the look and feel of the X48TwinTurbo we reviewed just a week or so ago.  Now the P45R2000 has all options stated above and plus some but what will be an added feature of this board is its price. It should be price well under the $240 asking price of the ASUS P5Q at about $150-$160. Price is one thing but is it worth it in the end? Read on as well put this board on the bench.

 

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>

Pages

Recent Review Comments

Linode VPS Hosting