Reviews

ProClockers Summer Giveaway 2018 is Live! Click for more details.

ProClockers is your source for unbiased Hardware Reviews from today's top PC hardware manufacturers. We also have a growing library of reviews for mobile accessories and PC games.

Latest ProClockers Hardware Reviews

Posted by
on Monday, 06 July 2009

Thermolab Baram CPU Cooler The new Baram from Thermolab has all the signs of being one of the better coolers on the market. It has five heat pipes, support for dual 120mm cooling fans and even the what I believe to be the proper size and weight. The Baram is compatible with current CPU sockets from Intel and AMD, except for socket 1366. What impresses me the most is the build quality of the cooler. Will size and build quality make this a good performer? We will see.

 

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Monday, 06 July 2009

OverviewThe case is the Phoenix Neo, which is a remake of the older Phoenix released about three years ago. The front of the newer model has been slightly redone to a more modern look. The Neo seems aimed at the gamer looking for a fresh, new stylish look, while still being functional. The total opposite of gaming cases we have seen from Coolermaster, Antec and Silverstone. Speaking of functionality, one of the key features of the Neo is the huge 25cm monster fan on the side panel. Lets take a closer look at the new Phoenix Neo.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Monday, 06 July 2009

 Enermax Aeolus Laptop CoolerThe Aeolus is Enermax's attempt to bring high performance cooling to laptops. When I say high performance, I refer to the massive 250mm cooling fan the cooler is built around. Yes, you heard it right, 240mm. This has to be the largest fan on a laptop ever. Besides the fan, the Aeolus shares the same theme we saw in the Aurora keyboard. Smooth and flowing aluminum is the binding structure that supports the cooler. When I first read the specifications on the cooler, I thought it would look grotesque because of a over-sized fan. Yet, the aluminum brings the cooler back down to earth and in a fashionable way.

 

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Monday, 06 July 2009

overviewThe CNPS line takes chances in idea and design, especially when it comes to the new CNPS9900 cooler. Not that I am not a fan of the typical flower design we have seen from Zalman, but there is a time when one must move forward. With the competitive nature of the market, this is most definitely true with cooling technology. The new cooler keeps the usual heat pipes we're accustomed to seeing, but the fins surrounding the pipes are now split in half, resulting in two half coolers with a PWM controller in between them. But is this semi-new look enough to be fitted in your plans for your next rig build? We shall see.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Monday, 06 July 2009

Scythe Mugen 2 CPU Cooler Today's review sample was originally a pretty good cooler in its earlier days. The Mugen cooler was a favorite of many reviewers that had the pleasure of reviewing it. Performance was right there with the Noctua NH-U12P, Tuniq Tower 120 and many others we regarded as very good coolers. However, the new version is not only compatible with the new Intel i7 processor, but is heavier, taller and comes with a better performing cooling fan. Is it enough to put it at the top of the list with the likes of the Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme and the new Zalman CNPS 9900 LED? We shall see.

 

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Monday, 06 July 2009

overviewAnother company that is not as popular in the U.S. as it is in Asia is allowing us to review their tower design cooler. Evercool is the one of the largest cooler manufacturers in Taiwan. Regardless of their lack of popularity in the U.S. looking around the net I saw several reviews about their previous and they all performed pretty well. Not in order to make a bigger name for themselves here in the U.S. Evercool sent us two of their newest coolers, the one we will presenting to you today is the Transformer 4. This new cooler is capable of handles all the newest processors from AMD and Intel as well as each's older processors. And with the dual fan setup the Transformer is looking to be a cool to be wrecking with. And look good doing it. 

 

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Monday, 06 July 2009

overviewI'm zigging today when you expected me to zag. Up for review is the Orbitsound T3 portable battery powered personal stereo speaker with airSOUND. Yes, I know. This isn't a power supply or case review. Don't let yourself feel too disheartened. I have a case review waiting in the wings, but I took time off from that once I got my hands on the T3.   Orbitsound is an UK-based company and the T3 is just one of their offerings that sport airSOUND� single-point-stereo technology. Before we can get into the review some explanation is necessary about airSOUND and what it does. What better place to find it than Orbitsound's web site.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Monday, 06 July 2009

overviewBesides looks features is another tough and rough area to conquer and keep the price decent. The integrated fan LED controller, one/two hand carrying handle and the solid black interior are just a couple of options that users will like for the $100 asking price of the Scout. The Scout does offer some cable management features as well but due to the shorter narrower design there isn't a lot of outlets for cables to exit to the rear of the case. This may not be a large deal breaker due to the fact this is more of a LAN case and I don't see many having to buckling down too many cables because of the lack of components they may use in the case.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Monday, 06 July 2009

overviewBut some of you are not into the extra large cases as they tend to take up too much room so Coolermaster decided to capitalize on the success of the HAF 932 and develop a smaller version entitled the HAF 922. Even with the reduction in size the 922 still gives us two massive 200mm fans in the front and top of the case. And if you think because the unit is smaller you have to sacrifice drive space. Then you are wrong. The 922 offers five 5.25" and six 3.5" drive bays. And if that wasn't enough you still have support for standard sized ATX motherboards. The HAF 922 does give the would-be buyer a lot of options like its bigger brethren but it is right for you? Read the next following pages to find out. 

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Monday, 06 July 2009

Cogage TRUE Spirit CPU CoolerThermalright's new offspring is Cogage. Cogage is targeted at gamers, mainstream users and moderate overclocker. Cogage opens with two coolers: TRUE Spirit which we are reviewing today and the MST-140. Each of the coolers are aimed at two different users. The Spirit which looks pretty similar to the original Ultra-120. And is geared to cool your overclocked CPU while the MST-140 is aimed at the person that is in need of a cooler for tight spaces like HTPC and SFF boxes. Even though the Spirit and the Ultra-120 look similar they do have their differences. What are they? Read on and find out.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Monday, 06 July 2009

overviewThe cooler was the Xigmatek Thor's Hammer. The Hammer is one of those coolers that when you first see it you could not but think how does this thing compete with the big boys like the Coolermaster V8 and Thermalright T.R.U.E. Well that is what I thought anyways. And to think about how well the HDT-S1283 has done at a budget price you would think this monster would be a Top Ten cooler killer. The Hammer is based on the Heat pipe Direct Touch, or HDT for short, technology. To explain this in a brief sentence, the heat pipes come in direct contact with the IHS of the processor for more direct cooling. We will get more into that later in the review. So, you have to read a little more to see what this cooler and HDT is all about.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Monday, 06 July 2009

Super Talent 16GB Pico C Flash DriveOur next Pico we will be reviewing is the Pico-C Nickel. Which like the Gold model is plated with the precious metal. The advantage the Nickel has over the Gold we reviewed is an additional 8 gigs of storage. Not only is the storage size a pretty amazing aspect of the Pico but its physical size is as well. The Pico weighs in at an incredible 6 grams. At this size the drive is a non factor while hanging around your neck on a necklace or on your key chain.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Monday, 06 July 2009

Hyper N520To add to the performance line of cooling, Coolermaster graced us with a new cooler labeled the Hyper N520. The N520 is designed is based on the tower and heat pipe technology which is very popular today. One thing that sets the Hyper N520 from the rest is it built-in dual 92mm cooling fans. This simple addition is something that higher priced coolers tend to come with. From all this we can see the Hyper N520 is aiming to be one of the top of the budget coolers.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Monday, 06 July 2009

OCZ 8GB Throttle eSATA Flash DriveWell, I guess we should be asking OCZ that question. It is funny that the minds of OCZ could come up with a twist on something so simple and common. The OCZ Throttle takes the newest and fastest port on the PC and makes it usable for small portable storage. You know the port we are talking about…eSATA. The Throttle is offered in sizes ranging from 8 gigs up to 32.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Monday, 06 July 2009

overviewThe success of the HAF932 was not a surprise to many of us as it offered a lot room, a rugged good looks and enough fans and cooling to keep everything in the case in good cool and solid running fashion. Coolermaster building on the success of the HAF932 decided to take the functions and features of the HAF and employ them in a new ATCS unit. The ATCS 840 will issue in a new class of ATCS (Active Thermal Convention System, yeah I know I should have mentioned it earlier) with its abundance of room, huge fans, easy assembly and clean looks. If you are a person that like refined cases this new case may be your next one.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Monday, 06 July 2009

4670Taking a look at the HD 4670, this is not the same HD 4670 we reviewed some months ago. This is a new and improved HD 4670 when has been packed with GDDR4, which is a technology jump from the GDDR3 on the older model. What we will be looking at besides the performance increase from the new memory is the new and quieter dual slot active cooler which sits atop the 750MHz GPU core. Sit back and read on as we take the new HD 4670 for a hefty round of tests. 

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Monday, 06 July 2009

V10The V10 offers many more features than the V8. The first would be the additional capabilities of cooling your ram while taking care of the CPU. Sitting atop a second set of aluminum fins is a 120mm cooling fan when placed properly blows right over your DIMM slots. We saw this in the Gemini cooler as well. This kind of cooler eliminates the need to deal with extra fans for ram cooling. Yet the most beneficial feature of the V10, if used right, is the T.E.C. base. With the right amount of heat to activate the thermal electric plate that is attached to the base of the cooler, the V10 is posed to offer a new level of performance and cooling and is capable of taming the most voltage hungry processor.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>

Pages

Share This Page

Linode VPS Hosting

Recent Review Comments