Reviews

Search form

Latest ProClockers Hardware Reviews

Posted by
on Tuesday, 13 October 2009

5750On the mid-range front, AMD has today released the HD5750, which is gunning for its older brethren, the HD 4850 and the Nvidia GT250. Curious about the price? We predict the card will hit the shelves at $150. Besides the price point, the HD 5750 offers some of the benefits of the more expensive HD 5870 and 5850, DirectX 11 support and Eyefinity. Yes, the much talked about Eyefinity.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Saturday, 10 October 2009

Tuniq Tower 120 ExtremeTuniq has finally released the new and improved Tuniq Tower 120, the Tuniq Tower 120 Extreme. The coolers may share similar names, but the new extreme doesn't isn't just a younger brother. It sports a new style of aluminum fans, a wider base and a fan controller. It also looks as if Tuniq was aiming to satisfy the Intel Core i5/i7 owners. With this being said, lets take a closer look at the new cooler.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 08 October 2009

saiphLike to play video games? Hardware is important. Like to play multi-player video games, then hardware becomes even more so. Is your top priority to electronically crush your enemies, see them driven before you and to hear the lamentations of their women? Chances are you probably own the best rig you can afford. When deciding what hardware to buy, most of your checklist should be a no-brainer. Video card? Check. Great CPU, motherboard and memory? Check, check and more check. Most people "in the know" will tell you good gaming peripherals should also be on that list. If you play Real Time Strategy games, you should have a keyboard with a host of programmable keys. If you're into First Person Shooters, then a good mouse is a necessity. However, not just any mouse will do. It has to have more than the standard left and right buttons and scroll wheel. It has to have multiple programmable buttons, quickly respond to your touch and feel right in your hand. But in fact, that's not enough anymore. It should also give you the ability to control its DPI while you're in-game to allow adjustments to your aiming technique on the fly. Ladies, Gentlemen, gamers and site-lurkers: I give you the Saiph 1800 from Mionix. Read on to find out why you might just throw out your current gaming mouse.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Wednesday, 07 October 2009

ZP1000Well, our next product up for review is from  our good friends at Coolmax, a company who  believes you don't have to pay an arm and a leg to get a high quality PSU. This is why they sent us over the ZP-1000. The ZP-1000 is a 1,000 watt partial modular unit that is meant to go up against the likes of Thermaltake, Corsair and the other big name manufacturers who dominate the power supply market. Even if you are not in the market for such a high output power supply at a price of $150, it may be something to consider as it would help in the future-proofing of your rig.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Wednesday, 07 October 2009

ps228Last week we reviewed a device that should be in the toolbox of every computer repairman, network tech and enthusiast: the Vantec universal adapter. Truly a bit of hardware to make life much easier. Today, we will be reviewing another product in the same class. Let me introduce you to the PS228 from Coolmax. It has a nice blue backlit LCD listing all the voltage readings for connections on a computer power supply. Furthermore, it sounds an alarm to let you know if anything is wrong.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 01 October 2009

tinyToday's review product turned the tables on her, though. With an excess of mirth, I watched her reaction to the Verbatim TUFF-'N'-TINY™ 8gig portable flash drive. Giggly as a school girl, she immediately laid claim to the drive. As you can see from the pictures, the TUFF-'N'-TINY is a diminutive flash drive, even pixie-like. This set her to fawning over it and laying out plans to keep it on one of her cherished stuff animals. Having already hatched my own nefarious schemes for the drive, I suddenly felt a bit like a selfish schoolboy, hesitant to share. Rarely will a piece of computer hardware invoke this sort of reaction in our house. However, looks are not everything. To get a good review from me, this Lilliputian flash drive will have to put forth decent numbers and live up to its claim of being tough.

 

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 24 September 2009

 

Sunbeamtech Ultra-Tech Station Acrylic Case Today, we will take a look at the most reasonable priced tech bench on the market in the form of the Sunbeamtech Ultra-Tech Station. Functionally and visually I see the Sunbeamtech Ultra-Tech offering the same features the HighSpeedPC and others. The Ultra-Tech is made of nothing but clear acrylic sheets and a couple pieces of metal that have to be put together once pulled from the box. Besides the thirty minutes or so of building time the Ultra-Tech has a lot to offer. So, lets take a look at what it does offer.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 24 September 2009

evo_blue 750Today I will be taking a look at another gift from Thermaltake that was sitting on my front door step when I arrived home today. The gift came in the form of a brand spanking new Evo_Blue power supply. The Evo_Blue comes in two different wattage's. The first is a 650 and the second is the 750; which, we will be examining today. My first impression of the Evo_Blue was it was made more for modders and other creative individuals out there than gamers and enthusiasts. You will see more of why I say this in a few.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Tuesday, 22 September 2009

tuff clipOur lives come down to a succession of choices which inevitably lead us through our triumphs and failures. Not to discount random circumstance, clarity of purpose often ensures a more favorable outcome than cloudy half-formed goals listlessly pursued. I am willing to bet successful men and women are capable of narrowing down the sum of their lives to a few well-timed, ingenious decisions. However, the majority on the other side of the coin could list a litany of misfires, sins of omission and outright failures that led them down the wrong path.  A successful company can also be boiled down to correct choices made at the right time. When dealing with computer hardware manufacturers, the results are tangible, quality products. Like our individual lives, every product to hit the market is the culmination of decisions. Some are misfires and there are sins of omission and others are catastrophic failures. Today we're looking at the Verbatim 8 GB TUFF-CLIP, a great flash drive, showcasing what happens when a company makes all the right decisions.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Tuesday, 22 September 2009

HA08 Combo LIf you are one to lean towards the overclocking and gaming aspect of the motherboard then you will be happy to know that there is still support for the hybrid Crossfire with mated with a Radeon compatible video card. AMD was really looking out for the enthusiast when developing this chipset. To add to the excitement of the 790GX chipset we will see if we can get more performance unlocking the rest of the cores in our X2 550 processor.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Monday, 21 September 2009

X120TFThe X120 is based on a technology Cool Age is banking on called WIND TUNNEL. The idea behind it is to creat more surface area while keeping the cooler small. This extra surface area is created by shaping the fins of the cooler into layers of tiny loops. Air is pushed into the loops to create the wind tunnel effect. The technical talk sounds good, but I would like to say that the X120 is very impressive-looking with six heat pipes used to transfer from the base of the cooler. But are the extra heat pipes and the fancy technology enough to compete with the top dogs of the industry? We will see very soon.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Sunday, 20 September 2009

choiixCooler master is a well known company that has been around for many years.  They are known for their cases, desktop cooling solutions, power supplies and laptop cooling.  Of course this leads us to why we are here today.  Cooler Master was nice enough to send us a Choiix Air Through Stash laptop cooler.  Laptops are continuing to take over desktop sales these days.  One of the biggest downfalls of laptops is their shortened life span over a desktop and the largest contributing factor to that is HEAT.  Heat is the nemesis of almost all PC’s, but with desktops increased size and room you are not so limited with cooling options.  Of course with your laptop you don’t have the room or even the options to fix your cooling solutions, so you have to look outside your PC to find a fix.  This is of course where Cooler Master Choiix Air Through Stash laptop cooler comes into play.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Wednesday, 16 September 2009

vantecThe NexStar U.S.A. is a combination of devices many of us have used as  PC builders. It can transfer data from one computer to another peer-to-peer, retrieve data from digital media cards, recover data from a malfunctioning hard drive or with the addition of a hard drive, become an external storage solution. However, there is one thing missing. Read along and find out.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Wednesday, 16 September 2009

Element TThe newest series of cases from Thermaltake is the Element line. The Element series consist of three cases: S, G and the T. Each of the cases are designed to satisfy different individuals. The S is meant for professionals in a office, business or even producers of music and videos. The G is for the gamer that wants a killer looking case to house all his or her gaming gear. The last model is the T and we'll be taking a look at it today. The T is for the budget-minded individual that wants something which looks good and doesn't cost an entire paycheck to buy. The Element T is a all black mesh front panel case with clean lines begging for some attention.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Tuesday, 15 September 2009

 

sentinelCoolermaster is one of the leaders in power supply and case manufacturing. But today we will see if they can hit a high note with their new venture the Sentinel Advance dual laser mouse. With the recession the way it is today even large companies have to create a new hustle in order to stay above water. And the new Sentinel maybe the right hustle for Coolermaster as it is large and in charge. The features are one thing but before we even plugged it into the USB port we feel in love with the size of the mouse. My narrow long finger felt right at home on the Sentinel. It was like it was an natural extension of my hand. I think this is what Coolermaster was aiming for with the Sentinel. 

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Tuesday, 08 September 2009

The P55-UD6 has just what the enthusiast will be looking for with a BIOS that is meant to allow the best and highest overclocks. For the person willing to pay a little extra, this is what he or she is looking for: a motherboard that allows high BLK at the highest possible multiplier. Add in the dual GPU configurations in Crossfire and SLI, we can see Gigabyte adding to its awards and world record collection. One feature that I like about the new Gigabyte motherboard is that it is pretty. So, lets take the P55 and the new Intel i7 860 for a spin and see if it is worth your time and money.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 03 September 2009

OCZ AgilityOCZ is one of those companies who looks out for everyone. No matter if you are a hard core gamer with lots of money to buy extreme gear or a budget minded individual that has to make every dollar count, they have you in mind. With this way of thinking, OCZ have released several classes of solid state drives ranging from the Solid series to the Vertex EX. Our first review of a SSD will consist of a model from their mainstream line up: Agility. The Agility is based around a Indilinx controller backed by Elpida 64MB cache chip. These two components gives the Agility its performance numbers. What keeps the Agility a low cost alternative to other solid state drives with similar number is the inexpensive NAND modules used. But just how inexpensive is the Agility? Just how fast is the Agility? Read on and find out.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>

Pages

Recent Review Comments

Linode VPS Hosting