Reviews

Search form

ProClockers is your source for unbiased Hardware Reviews from today's top PC hardware manufacturers. We also have a growing library of reviews for mobile accessories and PC games.

Latest ProClockers Hardware Reviews

Posted by
on Sunday, 25 October 2009

Coolmax CN390 NAS EnclosureThere are many reasons today to invest in such an enclosure and because they are accessible from the internet, security measures are capable of warning you via emails. There is more to a NAS enclosure than meets the eye. Coolmax sent us a sample of their CN390 NAS enclosure to see what their unit has to offer. If you are in the need for this type of device, we suggest you read along to see if it will be your next purchase.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Sunday, 25 October 2009

Lian Li PC-A71FThe economy did not keep Lian Li from producing their top of the line products. The PC-A71F is an example of the quality that Lian Li puts out with each of their cases. The A71F is a tall tower that stands an incredible two feet tall. Handcrafted from aluminum, the unit is designed for the person looking for every option and feature imaginable in a case. If you are looking for an attractive case just to house all your components or looking to build a massive water-cooled gaming rig, Lian Li has given you the PC-A71F. Now it is time to take a closer look at the case to check out all the new features it has to offer.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Wednesday, 21 October 2009

SNA 95Most of our reviews are based on components that will make your rig bigger, better and faster. From time to time, we will get a product more a necessity than a need. Our next review is a case in point. Since I work mostly from a laptop, a good power adapter is needed. The laptop is about three years old and I have went through the original power adapter some time ago. Our good friends at Coolermaster have released a power brick that is able to power and charge most of your electronic devices. We will see if the new SNA-95 can bring life back to the old laptop.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Tuesday, 20 October 2009

Ultra 850It has been awhile since Ultra released a new power supply, but that changed today. The new X4 is Ultra's newest and best looking power supply. The X4 is aimed at the enthusiast looking to build a gamer rig around and the individual that needs a good reliable power supply for max overclocking and long bench sessions. If these groups of people are fond of it, then the rest of the world usually catches on. We received two units from Ultra, a 600 model and a 850 unit. Lets get the units on the test bench and see what they are all about.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 15 October 2009

Cooler Master NotePal U2The Cooler Master NotePal U2 is a hot looking new unit designed with one thing in mind, keeping your laptop cool.  Cooler master does this with an amazing looking design.  Its frame is made out of aluminum with some rather stylish rubber mounts that combine aesthetics and usefulness.   I may have mentioned this before, but it’s worth saying again, heat is the killer of laptops, so you do whatever you can to remove heat from the equation.  After all, a laptop cooler is far cheaper than a new laptop!  And if there is one company that you can trust who has cooling running through their veins, it’s Cooler Master.  They have been around the DIY PC market for over a decade providing cases, CPU coolers, and chipset coolers.  They’re also widely respected for the wide range of power supplies they produce.  Their main goal is to provide the best thermal solutions, and they are well known for their cooling expertise.  So let’s take a look at the NotePal U2 and see if their vast experience has produced a winning product yet again.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 15 October 2009

Spire TherMax ProIt has been some time since we reviewed a CPU cooler from Spire. Their coolers were how we first got to know them.  These days they have power supplies like the BlackMoon we recently reviewed. They are also known for manufacturing casings, hard drive enclosures and even cooling fans. Spire is a company that wants to offer the people of the world a complete array of components. Today, we will be reviewing their newest CPU cooler called the ThermMax Pro. The TherMax Pro is designed to replace that stock CPU cooler and offer better than stock cooling performance, while maintaining a good performance to noise ratio. Like any other product, we will give the TherMax Pro its time on the bench just to see how well it does on an everyday system.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Tuesday, 13 October 2009

5750On the mid-range front, AMD has today released the HD5750, which is gunning for its older brethren, the HD 4850 and the Nvidia GT250. Curious about the price? We predict the card will hit the shelves at $150. Besides the price point, the HD 5750 offers some of the benefits of the more expensive HD 5870 and 5850, DirectX 11 support and Eyefinity. Yes, the much talked about Eyefinity.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Saturday, 10 October 2009

Tuniq Tower 120 ExtremeTuniq has finally released the new and improved Tuniq Tower 120, the Tuniq Tower 120 Extreme. The coolers may share similar names, but the new extreme doesn't isn't just a younger brother. It sports a new style of aluminum fans, a wider base and a fan controller. It also looks as if Tuniq was aiming to satisfy the Intel Core i5/i7 owners. With this being said, lets take a closer look at the new cooler.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 08 October 2009

saiphLike to play video games? Hardware is important. Like to play multi-player video games, then hardware becomes even more so. Is your top priority to electronically crush your enemies, see them driven before you and to hear the lamentations of their women? Chances are you probably own the best rig you can afford. When deciding what hardware to buy, most of your checklist should be a no-brainer. Video card? Check. Great CPU, motherboard and memory? Check, check and more check. Most people "in the know" will tell you good gaming peripherals should also be on that list. If you play Real Time Strategy games, you should have a keyboard with a host of programmable keys. If you're into First Person Shooters, then a good mouse is a necessity. However, not just any mouse will do. It has to have more than the standard left and right buttons and scroll wheel. It has to have multiple programmable buttons, quickly respond to your touch and feel right in your hand. But in fact, that's not enough anymore. It should also give you the ability to control its DPI while you're in-game to allow adjustments to your aiming technique on the fly. Ladies, Gentlemen, gamers and site-lurkers: I give you the Saiph 1800 from Mionix. Read on to find out why you might just throw out your current gaming mouse.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Wednesday, 07 October 2009

ZP1000Well, our next product up for review is from  our good friends at Coolmax, a company who  believes you don't have to pay an arm and a leg to get a high quality PSU. This is why they sent us over the ZP-1000. The ZP-1000 is a 1,000 watt partial modular unit that is meant to go up against the likes of Thermaltake, Corsair and the other big name manufacturers who dominate the power supply market. Even if you are not in the market for such a high output power supply at a price of $150, it may be something to consider as it would help in the future-proofing of your rig.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Wednesday, 07 October 2009

ps228Last week we reviewed a device that should be in the toolbox of every computer repairman, network tech and enthusiast: the Vantec universal adapter. Truly a bit of hardware to make life much easier. Today, we will be reviewing another product in the same class. Let me introduce you to the PS228 from Coolmax. It has a nice blue backlit LCD listing all the voltage readings for connections on a computer power supply. Furthermore, it sounds an alarm to let you know if anything is wrong.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 01 October 2009

tinyToday's review product turned the tables on her, though. With an excess of mirth, I watched her reaction to the Verbatim TUFF-'N'-TINY™ 8gig portable flash drive. Giggly as a school girl, she immediately laid claim to the drive. As you can see from the pictures, the TUFF-'N'-TINY is a diminutive flash drive, even pixie-like. This set her to fawning over it and laying out plans to keep it on one of her cherished stuff animals. Having already hatched my own nefarious schemes for the drive, I suddenly felt a bit like a selfish schoolboy, hesitant to share. Rarely will a piece of computer hardware invoke this sort of reaction in our house. However, looks are not everything. To get a good review from me, this Lilliputian flash drive will have to put forth decent numbers and live up to its claim of being tough.

 

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 24 September 2009

 

Sunbeamtech Ultra-Tech Station Acrylic Case Today, we will take a look at the most reasonable priced tech bench on the market in the form of the Sunbeamtech Ultra-Tech Station. Functionally and visually I see the Sunbeamtech Ultra-Tech offering the same features the HighSpeedPC and others. The Ultra-Tech is made of nothing but clear acrylic sheets and a couple pieces of metal that have to be put together once pulled from the box. Besides the thirty minutes or so of building time the Ultra-Tech has a lot to offer. So, lets take a look at what it does offer.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 24 September 2009

evo_blue 750Today I will be taking a look at another gift from Thermaltake that was sitting on my front door step when I arrived home today. The gift came in the form of a brand spanking new Evo_Blue power supply. The Evo_Blue comes in two different wattage's. The first is a 650 and the second is the 750; which, we will be examining today. My first impression of the Evo_Blue was it was made more for modders and other creative individuals out there than gamers and enthusiasts. You will see more of why I say this in a few.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Tuesday, 22 September 2009

tuff clipOur lives come down to a succession of choices which inevitably lead us through our triumphs and failures. Not to discount random circumstance, clarity of purpose often ensures a more favorable outcome than cloudy half-formed goals listlessly pursued. I am willing to bet successful men and women are capable of narrowing down the sum of their lives to a few well-timed, ingenious decisions. However, the majority on the other side of the coin could list a litany of misfires, sins of omission and outright failures that led them down the wrong path.  A successful company can also be boiled down to correct choices made at the right time. When dealing with computer hardware manufacturers, the results are tangible, quality products. Like our individual lives, every product to hit the market is the culmination of decisions. Some are misfires and there are sins of omission and others are catastrophic failures. Today we're looking at the Verbatim 8 GB TUFF-CLIP, a great flash drive, showcasing what happens when a company makes all the right decisions.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Tuesday, 22 September 2009

HA08 Combo LIf you are one to lean towards the overclocking and gaming aspect of the motherboard then you will be happy to know that there is still support for the hybrid Crossfire with mated with a Radeon compatible video card. AMD was really looking out for the enthusiast when developing this chipset. To add to the excitement of the 790GX chipset we will see if we can get more performance unlocking the rest of the cores in our X2 550 processor.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Monday, 21 September 2009

X120TFThe X120 is based on a technology Cool Age is banking on called WIND TUNNEL. The idea behind it is to creat more surface area while keeping the cooler small. This extra surface area is created by shaping the fins of the cooler into layers of tiny loops. Air is pushed into the loops to create the wind tunnel effect. The technical talk sounds good, but I would like to say that the X120 is very impressive-looking with six heat pipes used to transfer from the base of the cooler. But are the extra heat pipes and the fancy technology enough to compete with the top dogs of the industry? We will see very soon.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>

Pages

Linode VPS Hosting

Recent Review Comments