Reviews

Search form

ProClockers is your source for unbiased Hardware Reviews from today's top PC hardware manufacturers. We also have a growing library of reviews for mobile accessories and PC games.

Latest ProClockers Hardware Reviews

Posted by
on Saturday, 04 July 2009

overviewI do a lot of case reviews as the junior reviewer at Pro-Clockers. It doesn't bother me, because I've got a case fetish of sorts. In its own twisted way it works out fine for everyone involved. Over the years, I've owned big cases, small cases, weird cases and modded cases. To be honest, I change cases more than some men change shirts. The last few years, I settled in with the Antec Sonata II. It's a great case and did what I needed it to do. However, I changed it for the Aerocool AE Plus last month. Always a sucker for big fans, the Aerocool drew me in. After trying out the Sunbeamtech Quarterback, I switched again. My main rig is now happily housed in the slightly odd, yet highly functional Quarterback. Read on to see why I changed cases.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Saturday, 04 July 2009

 

overviewToday we will be covering the ATI top card in the form of the 4870. The 4870 is based on the long awaited RV770 from AMD. The RV770 core was manufacturer from the 55 nanometer technology. This whole technology is what gave us DirectX 10.i, Shader 4.1 and PCIe 2.0 support. The most impressive feature that we see in the new 4870 GPU is the GDDR5 which is clocked at 900MHz in this new AMD card. There are plenty of features we can sit here and talk about but how about we get into the testing phase and see how well it performs?

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewThis is just what Thermalright did with the IFX-14. The cooler consists of twin towers linked by a set of heat pipes. Now I am not going to give you all the features here in the introduction. But I will tell you the cooler does come with a little surprise. Something that no other cooler comes with. If you want to know what it is then you will have to continue reading.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewSo what does it take to beat the Thermalright Ultra-120 when it comes to all out performance? Well an improved Ultra-120 in this case it is called the Ultra-120 Extreme. So in order to beat the best you have to make it better. Now I think this is Thermalright thinking and we are here today to see if this is true. Will the two extra heatpipes that were added to the original make enough of a difference to dethrone the king? We will take time to put the new cooler through some tests and see what happens.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewWe don’t have the Khaos on the review table for you today but we do have another good looking case from NZXT, the Tempest. NZXT has this case labled as the Airflow King. At first sight you can see this case may be able to live up to that slogan and if you can’t see the reason for this slogan then let me spell it out for you. This case can hold up to six 120mm cooling fans and the fans are placed in areas where they would blow over the motherboard, video card and hard drives.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewCorsair is one of those companies no matter what they venture into it will be a success. Not only are they one of the most successful memory manufacturers but last month we took a look at their Voyager 32GB flash drive and it too was a big hit. Corsair has of lately broaden their range of products to include power supplies. The HX received great awards from around the web. based on the same tech that made the HX a hit the TX series is sure to be a benchmark in the world of power supplies. The unit that we will be taking a look at today is the 750 watt model. According to Corsair the TX is designed to give you maximum amount of power with the maximum of protection but at a minimum amount of money spent.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewWe all know OCZ as the company that never stops. It seems like every day I am receving some kind of press release from them. Just recently there was a P.R. notice to introduce a new line of ram kits under the Fata1ty branding. Yet another line to add to their vast array of memory. That is good news for some as you can continue that black and red theme you have going on. Our test subject today is from a more familiar line know by OCZ fans, which is the Reaper series. The Reapers are known by its trademark black heat spreaders and copper heat pipes. Today we will take the Reaper PC3 12800 for a ride on our test bench and see what kind of potential they have.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewEarlier in the year we got a chance to review the Vantec 400MX-S2 that boasts dual hard drive support but no raid but had JBOD capabilities. This was a pretty cool enclosure, one that is still around today acting as a backup storage device for this site. You can never have enough backups. But today we are going to review Vantec’s newest MX enclosure entitled the 400MX-SR. I bet you can guess what is different about this one compared to the last model. Ok, give up? Raid! The new unit has Raid 1/0 as well as JBOD.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewAnd if you are to base your conclusion on first impression then a Super Talent flash drive that just may be what you are looking for. The new Pico Gold we received is the smallest of all the flash drives that we have tested including the very small PD18 from Adata. And the Pico Gold has another visual feature that may appeal to your bling side. This unit is gold plated. Yeah that's right gold plated. Ultra small and physically appealing are some pretty good traits to have but there is one more to boast about. Into the gold plated casing is 8GB of storage space. Now that we have your attention lets proceed on with the rest of the article.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewCoolmax was kind enough to send over one of their more powerful power supplies. The CUQ1350 is the big dog from Coolmax and guaranteed to power the most extreme systems. The CUQ1350 is a somewhat different than the CUG950 we reviewed a few weeks ago. The CUQ series is not totally modular unlike the CUG, which is totally modular. And a stunning brushed aluminum enclosure encloses all the power the unit has to offer. This is just some of what the new CUG1350 has to offer. What else does the CUG has to offer? Lets read the review shall we.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewFrom the very beginning many of us could have figured the P45 chipset was going to be the chipset of chance as it is price considerably cheaper than the older X38 and the X48. And from the early reviews the P45 overclockers pretty well. We have seen able forum post and web reviews with front side buses reaching the 600MHz range on Core2Duo processors. But for the non-overclockers out there another advantage over the older P35 is the two 8x PCIe slots when attempting to using ATI video cards in Crossfire mode. Today, we will take the EP45-DQ6 through a ring of benchmarks and see what type of FSB numbers we can achieve.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewToday I'm reviewing the Silverstone. I respect Silverstone. Their products are attractive and perform well, but I'm not going to take it easy on the DA850. For this PSU to garner a good review from me, it will have to stay stable while providing power to all my hardware.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewQimonda was nice enough a few months ago to let us play around with a set of XTune DDR3 PC-1333MHz. They were not too bad of a kit and did pretty well in our round of tests. As things progress and the need for more is there we asked to review a bigger and faster kit. We were granted permission to do so and received a set of 4GB of AXH860UD20-16H which is rated at CL9 at 1600MHz. We all know there is faster out there but this kit operates at only 1.5 volts. Not too bad for some one that doesn’t want to put an unnecessary load on their system. We will now stop rambling and get on with the testing.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewNow we have at our doorstep the Vendetta Dos ok the Vendetta 2. This new and improved Vendetta is bigger and sports a larger cooling fan. Naturally, we would think that a larger version of a similar cooler would deem better temps and higher overclocks. Well we are here today to see if the theory correct. 

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewIf you take a budget chipset and mix it with a company like ECS you will get an incredible priced motherboard. In this case you will get the P43T-A2. The P43A is ECS�s first P43 motherboard on the market. Even with all its short comings compared to the P45 this board offers the everyday Joe with everything they would need to build a stable and very complete system.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewToday I'm reviewing the Silverstone SST-KL03B-w. Will it make the grade? Silverstone is well-known for making quality enclosures, particularly for its high end cases, in both the full-tower and home theatre pc format. Given this pedigree, I expect this case will be no different.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 July 2009

overviewBut for those of you who don’t have a preference that would lead you to one particular brand there is a new company that would like you to take a chance with them. Vox is providing users with a very stylish external drive  capable of housing up to 750 gigs of storage. And if size isnt all you are looking for in a drive the V1 offers a single button backup system to make your life easier. These are just a couple of features that Vox is using to try and win you over. What else does it have to offer? Read the rest of these pages to find out.

 

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>

Pages

Linode VPS Hosting

Recent Review Comments