Reviews

Search form

Latest ProClockers Hardware Reviews

Posted by Damon Bailey
on Monday, 06 November 2017
Intel Optane Memory Technology NVMe SSD 32GB

If you’ve been following along with all of the new Intel platforms this year like Z370 and X299, you’ve probably heard buzzwords about support for Intel Optane Memory Technology, but what does that mean exactly? It means a lot of big words layered over some existing technologies and married with a little bit of new Intel magic. In English? Well, it means you can skip the big, expensive new NVMe drive, and use a slower but much larger hard drive or solid state drive you already have, and let Intel Optane make it much faster and more responsive. 

Last updated on Monday, 06 November 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Mark Taliaferro
on Monday, 06 November 2017
Crucial_bx300_480

Sometime back Crucial came out with a new BX300 lineup of drives and while TLC (Triple Level Cell) has been raging through the market Crucial holds the line with the BX300 lineup and moved back to MLC (Multi-Level Cell) a more durable more expensive type of flash. Not only did they return to MLC for the BX300 they chose 3D Flash! Most techies know TLC flash stores 3 Bits of information per cell making it less expensive but each cell is used more so it has a shorter lifespan than MLC which stores 2 Bits of Information per cell and is a little more expensive than TLC. Now SLC is Single Level Cell and stores 1 Bit of information per cell and is mostly reserved for Enterprise class drives hence so expensive you have to sell the family cow to afford it.

Last updated on Tuesday, 07 November 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Mark Taliaferro
on Friday, 03 November 2017
Toshiba TR200 480GB SSD

The Toshiba OCZ TR200 480GB TLC is a BiCS flash DRAMless SSD and it’s the first DRAMless SSD to cross the test bench here at the lab. While the box says Toshiba OCZ TR200 Toshiba says OCZ no longer exists as a standalone brand and moving forward their SSD’s will be sold under the Toshiba name but that OCZ will be a subcategory of Toshiba products. Toshiba goes on to say that their SSD’s will still maintain the OCZ essence and target enthusiasts and gamers. Let’s face it we saw OCZ floundering and if it weren’t for the acquisition by Toshiba the brand would be extinct. We still have a set of OCZ Reapers around the Lab you would have to pry from our cold dead hands but Toshiba is doing a good job of carrying the flag forward and in a lot of ways improving on what we came to expect from OCZ.

Last updated on Saturday, 04 November 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Thursday, 02 November 2017
Cooler Master Masterbox MB600L

Computer chassis have changed from little yellow cubes sitting on our desktops to sculptures that house our prized expensive components and we expect them to be as attractive as our components inside. Cooler Master has long produced value priced chassis that give more bang for your bucks that you would expect. The MasterBox MB600L is in the $50 dollar price range and considering the price it has a ton of features. If you are looking for an elegant build without breaking the bank take a serious look at the Cooler Master MasterBox MB600L.

Last updated on Thursday, 02 November 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Damon Bailey
on Thursday, 02 November 2017
GeIL EVO Spear DDR4 Memory

Gaming memory, like almost every other ‘gaming’ component and peripheral, has gotten bigger and flashier the last few years. From crazy, complicated heat spreaders to lighting reminiscent of a carnival ride, many ram kits are built to make a statement. If you are building a Small Form Factor (SFF) build and don’t have room for big heat spreaders, or just want something a little more low-key, you have typically been limited to slow, budget-minded memory. GeIL is here to solve that problem with their new EVO Spear DDR4 ram kits. Sleek and low profile, but still with high-performance memory at heart.

 

Last updated on Thursday, 02 November 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Mark Taliaferro
on Thursday, 02 November 2017
MSI GTX1070 Ti Gaming 8GB Twin Frozer VI

Amidst a rumor mill storm of epic proportions, Nvidia announced the GTX 1070Ti making the new card official. Our sample is a gorgeous MSI GTX 1070Ti Gaming Twin Frozer VI in typical MSI Red and Black. Pushing an amazing 2432 Cuda Cores on the 1070Ti compared to the 1080 which pushes 2560 Cuda Cores the 1070Ti gives up a mere 128 Cuda Cores. Now the GTX 1070 boasted 1920 Cuda Cores so the MSI 1070Ti Gaming w/Twin Frozer VI gains 512 Cuda cores over its little brother the GTX 1070. The slight snip and clip done on the GTX 1080 to make it a 1070Ti is so small that the GTX 1070Ti is more akin to the GTX 1080 than the GTX 1070 which should shut down some of the rumor mill trolls quite efficiently.

Last updated on Tuesday, 07 November 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Mark Taliaferro
on Thursday, 26 October 2017
Corsair SPEC-4 TG

Computer cases have gone from generic blond flat cases that a monitor sits on to high tech well designed pieces of art that display our components in an attractive way. Far too many times you look at a computer case that has the wiring features and amenities that you want and the price tag approaches what your CPU cost. We've seen mega towers that run $299 and up and they are grand chassis that will awe and inspire but way out of the price range most end users can afford. Enter the Corsair SPEC-4 TG with an MSRP of $59.99, Tempered smoked glass window that covers the entire side, more wiring amenities than most high dollar chassis even dream of and capable of 120mm and 240mm radiator mounting. That's a lot of chassis for a little money if you ask us. Now we aren't talking mammoth hulk of SECC rolled steel weighing in at 20 pounds without components, the Corsair SPEC-4 TG is made of lightweight aluminum and is a mid-tower class chassis but if you are looking for a wallet friendly chassis with extras then the Corsair SPEC-4 TG fits the bill to a T and lets face it it's Corsair so quality is a given.

Last updated on Thursday, 26 October 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Frost Schneider
on Thursday, 26 October 2017
Drevo_Calibur_Keyboard

The Drevo Calibur is a Bluetooth 4.0/wired mechanical RGB backlit keyboard which surprisingly isn't directly aimed at the gaming crowd, but rather your everyday office computer user. The Calibur is based upon a 71 key standard size key layout armed with mechanical switches in a compact design intended to save the user much needed desk space in the work environment. The Calibur has all the features needed to be a great device; it will come down to the design execution and materials Drevo has chosen. Drevo is a relatively new kid on the block which many users's maybe just hearing about, let's see what we can come to expect from this company in the future and if the Calibur lives up to its namesake. Thanks for choosing ProClockers.com  

Last updated on Wednesday, 01 November 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Mark Taliaferro
on Wednesday, 25 October 2017
Patriot Viper Gaming Mouse V570 Blackout & Viper Gaming Mouse Pad

Computer mice and mouse pads have not only given us a point of interaction with our computers, they also allow us to define our unique computing needs. Computer mice and mice pads are no longer a one size fits all. Let’s face it, everyone is different, how we use our mice may not necessarily be how others use or grip their mouse. Case in point, we like our mice to be lightweight and have a high DPI capability, also smaller mice fits our hands a little better, some people are the complete opposite of us, they like to use a slightly heavier mouse, lower DPI, and larger sized mice. When it comes to mice surfaces, we tend to like board styles. 

Last updated on Wednesday, 25 October 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Damon Bailey
on Monday, 23 October 2017
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Extreme

ASUS’s Crosshair family of products started with AMD’s Athlon 64 processors more than a decade ago and helped kick off the Republic of Gamers brand that is so well known today. With that sort of legacy, it’s no wonder ASUS brings it to the Ryzen family in a big way with the ROG Crosshair VI Extreme. Featuring the new AM4 socket and X370 chipset with support for Ryzen processors, Athlon CPU’s and upcoming 7th generation A-series accelerated processing units (APUs), ASUS delivers outstanding overclocking capabilities and the latest connectivity and technology to a gaming PC near you.

Last updated on Monday, 23 October 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Mark Taliaferro
on Wednesday, 18 October 2017
SilverStone_ST-1500-GS

Your computers power supply is the heart of your system and should be given as much thought as any other component in your build. Overclocking with a substandard power supply can be frustrating and systems can even be damaged by overtaxing low quality power supplies. When choosing power supplies we always look for at least a 25% excess capacity and with the new mega core CPU's and overclocking reaching 5GHz on a routine basis nows the time to think about your PSU choices. We like watt monster power supplies in the 1000W or higher range and planning for the future so we tend to go high on wattage. SilverStone was kind enough to send us one of their 1500W monster power supplies to look at and we have the SilverStone Silver Strider ST-1500GS 80+ Gold power supply on the bench today.

 

 

Last updated on Saturday, 28 October 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Mark Taliaferro
on Monday, 16 October 2017
Corsair LL120 RGB

Computer case fans have become a necessity for our computer builds. Let’s face it, we need to get rid of all of the heat our high-end computer components generate quickly and effectively out of our computers chassis. By doing so we keep our computer components cooler; which, gives us users less serious problems down the road, as well as, increase the life expectancy of our computers by keeping them cooler. The Corsair LL120 RGB, 120mm Dual Light Loop RGB 3 Pack​ is an excellent choice for air movement and maximum bling. 

Last updated on Monday, 16 October 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Damon Bailey
on Monday, 16 October 2017
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E

Taken from the ancient Roman and Greek word for owl, Strix means the keenest hearing and sharpest eyesight. The ROG STRIX Z370-E Gaming brings the very best Audio and Gaming features, along with overclocking and cooling innovations to Intel’s 8Th generation platform to dominate your game. With silver accented heatsinks and aesthetics inspired by the sharpest blades, you can look great while decimating your digital foes. 

Last updated on Monday, 16 October 2017 | Read More >>>

Pages

Recent Review Comments

Linode VPS Hosting