Reviews

ProClockers is your source for unbiased Hardware Reviews from today's top PC hardware manufacturers. We also have a growing library of reviews for mobile accessories and PC games.

Latest ProClockers Hardware Reviews

Posted by
on Sunday, 05 July 2009

palit 9800gtxThis leads us to today's review sample which is the Palit 9800GTX+. The overall specifications of the 9800GTX+ are very similar to the 9800GTX with a few differences. The main difference is the reducing of die size. After months of playing second fiddle to AMD when it came down to die size Nvidia finaly got with the program and reduced their's to 55nm. This meant a few things to the consumer one being less power consumption. And for those that really like numbers higher clocks came along for the ride. How does 745/1100 sound? I figured you would lke that. Palit has a couple more features that will win you over if these first couple don't.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Sunday, 05 July 2009

4850x2In the past few weeks we here at Pro-Clockers have reviewed all the latest ATI offering so we find it only fitting to review the HD 4850 X2, a card that I feel is "a little more fitting." The 4850 X2 is a dual GPU two gig of ram solution all on one PCB just like it's big brother the 4870 X2. And these are not enough numbers let me give you a few more. The clocks are preset at 625MHz on the core, 1000MHz for the memory and 800 stream processors times two. Enough of the preliminaries lets get into some testing.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Sunday, 05 July 2009

Sapphire hd4650The Sapphire HD4650 is a low price GPU based on the 55nm fabricated die that has all the features of the higher priced cards but just not to the extent of the others. Two of the main features of the card is the overclocked 650MHz core and 320 Stream Processors. This is more than enough to support your favorite high def video at a resolution of 2560x1600. And all this can be had for a mere $80.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Sunday, 05 July 2009

sapphire 4550As much as many of us would like to think so we overclockers/enthusiasts only make up a very small portion of the people that use a PC. I visit many forums including my own and so often we talk like we are the only computer users that matter. But if I had to guess what percentage of people are buying high frequency processors, crazy dollar amount video cards or coolers the size of elephants are very small about less than 10%. The other 90% are satisfied with a faster CPU than the one they had before or a video card powerful enough to play their favorite video games at a decent frame rate. 

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Sunday, 05 July 2009

v8I am a fanboy of American automobiles especially the old school ones like the Mustangs, Chevells, Novas and many others. And one of the reasons I am so into these cars is because of the big blocks ( V8 for the unknowing) that these cars all had. Pure muscle is where it is all at. And the Coolermaster V8 takes it's name from just these types of cars. The V8 is 865g of copper and aluminum so you can say this one is a big block. Today we will see if the Coolermaster V8 can perform like the cars did back in the 60s and 70s.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Sunday, 05 July 2009

v9Thermaltake recently had incredible success with their version of this type of case which is called the M9. The M9 was a very good looking case and was a favorite here at Pro-Clockers. But just recently Thermaltake released a press release announcing their new case called the V9. Both cases have their similarities as well as their differences. One difference is the windowed side panel and a very large top mounted fan on the newer V9.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Sunday, 05 July 2009

Toxic HD4870We got our mitts on the latest card to the Toxic line, the 4870 Toxic. And if you are one of those that have had a Toxic card before you haven't seen anything yet. The last Toxic we had here was the 3870 model that had a single slot cooling system based around the Vapor-X cooling system. While Sapphire took this Toxic in a whole new direction. This time the cooler coves the entirety of the card which is like the latest Nvidia lineup. I can't give you all the details of the new card in the introduction of the reviews so you must read on to find out more about the Sapphire HD 4870 Toxic.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Saturday, 04 July 2009

CrossfireOur wonderful friends at Sapphire were more than generous to us but not sending just one of their newest cards but two. The HD4670 is built around the RV730 which has a few favorable advantages over the RV770 (4870 and X2). Yes, we know that speed isn't one of those advantages but for less than $100 what would you expect. Less power consumption, less money and heat build up are a few things that will win many of us over. 

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Saturday, 04 July 2009

People across the globe purchasing and building systems based on the higher-end Intel chipset to utilize dual GPU setups now have a reason to justify their purchases. For quite some time, people that were dreaming of a better-than-average gaming rig were forced to go with SLI simply because of the pure graphics power the nVidia 8xxx and 9xxx graphic cards offered over ATI cards. Things have changed. We'll be looking at our first dual GPU card at Pro-Clockers courtesy of Sapphire. The Sapphire 4870x2 is based on the ATI reference design and its numbers reflect this. Let's take it for a test drive.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Saturday, 04 July 2009

overviewZalman is back at it again with a new gaming case called the GS1000. The difference between the GS1000 and the GT1000 are as obvious as day and night. The GS1000 is a made of a combination of aluminum, steel and a little plastic. Before we determine what category it falls in we will tell you a little bit more about the case. The case is full size and boasts incredible cable management possibilities and impeccable cooling options. Trust me there are several other features that are unique to the GS1000 but you will have to read on to find out what they are.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Saturday, 04 July 2009

overviewOne company that we have not reviewed an enclosure from is Coolmax. We all know that Coolmax has an eye for making pretty good power supplies. But there knowledge of enclosures is just as big. That knowledge spreads over to their latest line of enclosures which is the 250 series. The series consist of three different models: B and L which both have eSATA and USB ports and there is a B model that just has a single USB port.  We will be concentrating on the eSATA models which are more future proof.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Saturday, 04 July 2009

overviewAntec has been on the forefront of quality case design for sometime. While not always the flashiest of cases, Antec's build quality and functionally generally ranks toward the top of the charts. However, recently Antec has made a momentum shift, and produced a product line to appeal to gamers and enthusiast system builders alike. Enter the Antec Twelve Hundred Case, that in Antec's own words: 

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Saturday, 04 July 2009

overviewOver the years we have seen the 7000, 8000 and the now current 9000 series. What we are going to review today is not the beginning of the 1xxxx series but a miniture 9xxx called the CNPS9300AT. The little brother boasts some numbers that are more impressive than the bigger brother. Smaller but faster fan. And on load a little louder. Now that we got the numbers out of the way time to see how this little booger does on the test bench.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Saturday, 04 July 2009

overviewI have always being a big fan of FSP aka Sparkle for a long time. At one point I worked in an electronic store where I sold quite a few. FSP stability and prefection to quatity has always lead to some well built systems. And just last January, at the CES, we meet with one of their reps. As he showed us around pointing out some of their future offerings I knew I would have to get some of these units in the lab.

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Saturday, 04 July 2009

overviewVantec's new coolers are named after their best selling cooler to date the Aeroflow 2. The new Aeroflow FX 92 and Aeroflow FX 120 are based on the ever popular tower design which all the top coolers share. Even with the similarities of these coolers they also had their differences. Whether it is size, number of heat pipes, number of fins or the number of fans it supports they all have characteristics that make them stand out from one another. The Aeroflow models boast the vastly becoming popular Heat-pipe Direct Touch Technology and a sweet white cooling fan. But is this enough for Vantec to become a real player in the air cooling market? We will put it up against the several other coolers to see where it ranks.

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Saturday, 04 July 2009

overviewThis past year we have seen many new coolers released. Many of them are great when it comes to performance and even better when it comes to silence. With so many to pick from making a decision has become very hard to do. Just take a walk through your favorite forum. In the cooling section chances are the number one question will be "what cooler is the best?". Something else you will see is many comparsions between what many people would think are the best in a particular class. 

Last updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 | Read More >>>
Posted by
on Saturday, 04 July 2009

overviewAnd for those that are fortunate enough to be able to afford such a system, Tuniq has a new PSU that may be right up your alley. Tuniq is no stranger to constructing highend air-coolers but are also in the business of providing highend power supplies. A couple of weeks ago we bought the Miniplant from them but today we will be showcasing their lastest offering. A 1200 watt mammoth entitled: Ensemble. The number 1200 is not the really thing that makes the Ensemble special but also the fact that is boast an efficient rating of 87%. All these numbers are enough to make you wander, so since you are wandering lets take a closer look at the Ensemble.  

Last updated on Friday, 20 June 2014 | Read More >>>

Pages

Share This Page

Linode VPS Hosting

Recent Review Comments