Reviews

Search form

Latest ProClockers Hardware Reviews

Posted by Frost Schneider
on Thursday, 26 October 2017
Drevo_Calibur_Keyboard

The Drevo Calibur is a Bluetooth 4.0/wired mechanical RGB backlit keyboard which surprisingly isn't directly aimed at the gaming crowd, but rather your everyday office computer user. The Calibur is based upon a 71 key standard size key layout armed with mechanical switches in a compact design intended to save the user much needed desk space in the work environment. The Calibur has all the features needed to be a great device; it will come down to the design execution and materials Drevo has chosen. Drevo is a relatively new kid on the block which many users's maybe just hearing about, let's see what we can come to expect from this company in the future and if the Calibur lives up to its namesake. Thanks for choosing ProClockers.com  

Last updated on Wednesday, 01 November 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Mark Taliaferro
on Wednesday, 25 October 2017
Patriot Viper Gaming Mouse V570 Blackout & Viper Gaming Mouse Pad

Computer mice and mouse pads have not only given us a point of interaction with our computers, they also allow us to define our unique computing needs. Computer mice and mice pads are no longer a one size fits all. Let’s face it, everyone is different, how we use our mice may not necessarily be how others use or grip their mouse. Case in point, we like our mice to be lightweight and have a high DPI capability, also smaller mice fits our hands a little better, some people are the complete opposite of us, they like to use a slightly heavier mouse, lower DPI, and larger sized mice. When it comes to mice surfaces, we tend to like board styles. 

Last updated on Wednesday, 25 October 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Damon Bailey
on Monday, 23 October 2017
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Extreme

ASUS’s Crosshair family of products started with AMD’s Athlon 64 processors more than a decade ago and helped kick off the Republic of Gamers brand that is so well known today. With that sort of legacy, it’s no wonder ASUS brings it to the Ryzen family in a big way with the ROG Crosshair VI Extreme. Featuring the new AM4 socket and X370 chipset with support for Ryzen processors, Athlon CPU’s and upcoming 7th generation A-series accelerated processing units (APUs), ASUS delivers outstanding overclocking capabilities and the latest connectivity and technology to a gaming PC near you.

Last updated on Thursday, 30 November 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Mark Taliaferro
on Wednesday, 18 October 2017
SilverStone_ST-1500-GS

Your computers power supply is the heart of your system and should be given as much thought as any other component in your build. Overclocking with a substandard power supply can be frustrating and systems can even be damaged by overtaxing low quality power supplies. When choosing power supplies we always look for at least a 25% excess capacity and with the new mega core CPU's and overclocking reaching 5GHz on a routine basis nows the time to think about your PSU choices. We like watt monster power supplies in the 1000W or higher range and planning for the future so we tend to go high on wattage. SilverStone was kind enough to send us one of their 1500W monster power supplies to look at and we have the SilverStone Silver Strider ST-1500GS 80+ Gold power supply on the bench today.

 

 

Last updated on Saturday, 28 October 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Mark Taliaferro
on Monday, 16 October 2017
Corsair LL120 RGB

Computer case fans have become a necessity for our computer builds. Let’s face it, we need to get rid of all of the heat our high-end computer components generate quickly and effectively out of our computers chassis. By doing so we keep our computer components cooler; which, gives us users less serious problems down the road, as well as, increase the life expectancy of our computers by keeping them cooler. The Corsair LL120 RGB, 120mm Dual Light Loop RGB 3 Pack​ is an excellent choice for air movement and maximum bling. 

Last updated on Monday, 16 October 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Damon Bailey
on Monday, 16 October 2017
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E

Taken from the ancient Roman and Greek word for owl, Strix means the keenest hearing and sharpest eyesight. The ROG STRIX Z370-E Gaming brings the very best Audio and Gaming features, along with overclocking and cooling innovations to Intel’s 8Th generation platform to dominate your game. With silver accented heatsinks and aesthetics inspired by the sharpest blades, you can look great while decimating your digital foes. 

Last updated on Thursday, 30 November 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by ProClockers Hardware Reviews
on Wednesday, 11 October 2017
Xigmatek Prospect

Nowadays, enthusiasts and gamers love to highlight their prized high-performance gaming hardware installed inside a case which made tempered glass as side panels as a popular choice. Fortunately, there’s Xigmatek that’s offering such cases at a much cheaper price point. Follow us today as we check out the Xigmatek Prospect ATX chassis with tempered glass side panels.

Last updated on Wednesday, 11 October 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Damon Bailey
on Tuesday, 10 October 2017
ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero Motherboard

The ASUS Republic of Gamers (aka ‘ROG) is a family of premium gaming products ranging from video cards to motherboards to peripherals, but every enthusiast knows the foundation of any build is the motherboard. If you look up the definition of ‘Hero’ and ignore the bit about a sandwich, you are left with “a person who is admired or idealized for courage, outstanding achievements, or noble qualities”. ASUS has plenty out outstanding achievements, and the ROG line is about as noble as you can get in the PC world, so can the Maximus X be the Hero of your next gaming build?

Last updated on Thursday, 30 November 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Damon Bailey
on Monday, 09 October 2017
ASRock Z370 Taichi Motherboard

ASRock’s Taichi branded motherboards have been a very popular choice the last few generations for their well-balanced platform offering rock-solid, easy to use premium features at an optimal price point. The Taichi features the usual machine gear pattern over the majority of the board but in a more subdued grey and black contrast with a large gear shaped heatsink over the new Intel Z370 chipset. 

Last updated on Thursday, 30 November 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Mark Taliaferro
on Monday, 09 October 2017
EVGA_Closed_Loop_CPU_Cooler

With new CPU chips commonly capable of 5GHz and chips with anywhere up to 18 cores capable of 4.5GHz or more CPU cooling is a whole new ballgame!  With the Z170, Z270, Z370 and  X399 chipsets on the market and sporting super fast and mega multi-core designs AIO (All In One) water cooling is all the rage and becoming more the norm for enthusiasts and high-end platforms. EVGA is in the water cooling arena and hit it with a 120mm (Single Radiator one 120mm fan), 240mm (Dual Radiator two 120mm Fans), and a 280mm (Dual Radiator two 140mm Fans) and we have all three on the test bench.

Last updated on Monday, 09 October 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Damon Bailey
on Thursday, 05 October 2017
MSI Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon

Today Intel Launches its 8th generation Core processors, touted as “Intel’s best gaming processor ever”. Following that claim, MSI kicks off its Z370 series platform with one of its best gaming oriented series with the Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon AC. Featuring the same signature Carbon fiber accenting and subtle RGB accenting layered over the top of MSI’s high-end Performance Gaming platform, MSI welcomes Intel’s 8th generation Core CPU’s to the gaming family.

Last updated on Thursday, 30 November 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Damon Bailey
on Thursday, 05 October 2017
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming

This past January, Gigabyte officially replaced their G1-Gaming line up with the AORUS brand with the launch of Intel’s Z270 chipset. Originally designated for their high-end laptops, the AORUS name is now branded on Gigabyte’s graphics cards and motherboards. Now, less than a year later, Intel has launched their 8th generation of Core processor’s and their all new Z370 chipset. Although the Z370 chipset is still sporting the same LGA 1151 socket, the Z370 chipset only supports the new 8th generation of Core processors. So, if you plan to upgrade to the 8th generation, it will require a new motherboard.

Last updated on Thursday, 30 November 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Damon Bailey
on Thursday, 05 October 2017
Intel Core i7-8700K

Today Intel releases their new 8th generation Core Processors, known as Coffee Lake-S. While socket LGA 1151 is retained for this generation, Intel has tweaked so much to deliver the ultimate mainstream desktop experience, 8th gen CPU’s can only function on new 300 series motherboards. Intel’s mainstream offerings have topped out at 4 cores for many generations now, but 8th generation CPU’s give that a 50% increase to 6 cores on Core i5 and i7 offerings. Eighth generation Core i3 CPU’s see doubling of the core count to quad-core, and all three segments offer fully unlocked SKU’s for maximizing performance. Technologies such as Hyper-Threading and Turbo-Boost remain, but several new features make their appearance in this segment as well.

Last updated on Thursday, 30 November 2017 | Read More >>>
Posted by Damon Bailey
on Thursday, 05 October 2017
Intel Core i5-8400

Today marks a milestone for Intel with the release of the first mainstream six-core CPUs in the Core i5 and Core i7 segments and the first quad-core Core i3 CPUs. Core counts have skyrocketed this year across the board, first with High-End Desktop segments hitting a staggering eighteen cores, and now mainstream platforms finally breaking away from a quad-core ceiling. We have Intel’s six-core, six-thread Core i5-8400 on hand, and we’ll put it through its paces and see if more cores actually matter to anything more than benchmarking.

Last updated on Thursday, 30 November 2017 | Read More >>>

Pages

Recent Review Comments

Linode VPS Hosting